Best Bachelor’s in Communication Degrees in Ohio (2027)
Updated September 19, 202625+ min read

Best Bachelor's in Communication Degrees in Ohio (2027)

Compare Ohio's top-ranked communication programs by cost, outcomes, and format to find your best fit.

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • Ohio offers 29 ranked communication programs spanning public universities, private colleges, and fully online options.
  • Youngstown State University posts the lowest in-state net price at just $8,919 per year.
  • Concentrations range from public relations and digital media to strategic communication and health communication.
  • National median wages for media and communication roles exceed $65,000, with Ohio costs often well below average.

Ohio State University enrolls its communication majors in Columbus, a metro that also hosts Nationwide, Cardinal Health, and a dense cluster of agencies and broadcast newsrooms. Cleveland and Cincinnati add their own pipelines: healthcare systems, consumer-goods marketing around Procter & Gamble, and sports and media employers. For a communication major, proximity to those employers often determines where internships turn into offers.

The bachelor's in communication programs themselves vary widely. Flagship publics sit alongside small private colleges, and a few schools offer online or hybrid delivery for working adults. Concentrations run from public relations programs and journalism degree programs to health communication and sport communication. Net price swings just as much, from well under $10,000 at some public universities to several times that at selective privates.

That spread is the real decision point: a degree's local employer connections and internship access matter more than a school's name alone.

Top Communication Programs in Ohio, Ranked

Ohio's bachelor's programs in communication range from flagship public majors with analytics labs and podcasting studios to small private programs built around client work and one-to-one mentoring. The ten schools below show what that range looks like in practice, including the concentrations each one offers, how many students finish their degree, and what graduates of these majors report earning. Graduation rates are institution-wide figures rather than program-specific ones, so read them as a signal of how well each campus supports students through to completion.

How we ranked these

Factors considered
  1. On-time completion rates
  2. Earnings ten years after entry
  3. Program breadth and concentrations
  4. Internship and hands-on learning
  5. Faculty expertise and mentoring
Data sources
  • Original research on individual programs
  • Federal institutional data (NCES-IPEDS) covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • State cost-of-living adjustment from BEA Regional Price Parities — bea.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house

Ohio State University

#1

Columbus, OH · $17,000/yr (est. net price)

Best for: Aspiring public affairs and policy communicators

Ohio State runs the state's largest communication operation, with a Communication BA spanning three specializations plus separate journalism and strategic communication majors. Students work in multimedia classrooms, multiplatform labs, and a podcasting studio, and the Columbus location keeps government, media, and corporate internships close at hand. About 88 percent of students complete their degree institution-wide, and communication graduates report median earnings near $41,200 one year after finishing.

  • Three specializations: analysis and engagement, technology, and strategic communication
  • Multimedia classrooms, multiplatform labs, and a podcasting studio
  • Hands-on internships plus alumni networking and faculty mentoring
  • Coursework in audience analysis, message design, and media analytics
  • Located in Columbus, close to state government and agency internships
  • Public Affairs Journalism concentration
  • Multimedia reporting and backpack journalist training
  • Award-winning student media outlets
  • Pathways into media careers and law-related fields
  • Competitive admission with prerequisite courses
  • Campaign goal setting and strategy development
  • Crisis communication coursework
  • Experiential learning requirement
  • Prepares students for public relations careers

Case Western Reserve University

#2

Cleveland, OH · ~$41,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Future speech-language pathologists

Case Western Reserve's communication degree is a clinical track: a BA in Communication Sciences with a Communication Disorders concentration built for graduate study in speech-language pathology or audiology rather than media or public relations work. Coursework covers phonetics, language development, speech and hearing anatomy, audiology, and American Sign Language, with clinical observation available through Cleveland's hospital corridor. About 87 percent of students finish their degree institution-wide, and earnings figures are not reported for this major.

  • 45 credit hours in the major
  • Concentration in Communication Disorders
  • Prepares for graduate study in speech-language pathology or audiology
  • Phonetics, language development, and speech and hearing anatomy
  • Introduction to clinical practice and audiology
  • Multicultural communication coursework and American Sign Language
  • Optional departmental honors research project

University of Dayton

#3

Dayton, OH · ~$30,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Future teachers seeking communication licensure

Dayton builds its communication degree around five concentrations, communication management, communication studies, journalism, media production, and public relations, so students can change direction without changing schools. The major requires a capstone and 40 semester hours in the field, and hands-on work runs through student-run outlets including Flyer TV, Flyer News, and Flyer PR, often with Dayton-area clients. An optional teacher licensure track sets the program apart in Ohio, about 80 percent of students complete their degree institution-wide, and communication graduates report median earnings near $42,600 one year after finishing.

  • Five concentrations include communication management, journalism, and public relations
  • 120 credit hours, including 40 semester hours in the major
  • Capstone course required
  • Optional teacher licensure track
  • Student-run Flyer TV, Flyer News, and Flyer PR
  • Public relations campaign work with real clients
  • Writing-intensive coursework across the major

Ohio Northern University

#4

Ada, OH · $24,000/yr (est. net price)

Ohio Northern houses public relations in its College of Business Administration, tilting the degree toward corporate, nonprofit, and government communication rather than newsroom work. Every student is paired with a faculty mentor, classes are small, and the curriculum leans on internships and networking with working PR professionals. About 75 percent of students complete their degree institution-wide, and because the program is small, earnings figures are not reported for its graduates.

  • Housed in the College of Business Administration
  • Individual faculty mentor assigned to every student
  • Small class sizes with personalized advising
  • Internships and networking with working PR professionals
  • Prepares graduates for business, nonprofit, and government roles
  • Coursework in leadership, teamwork, and strategic communication

Miami University

#5

Oxford, OH · $18,000 – $41,000/yr (est.)

Miami spreads communication across five majors: communication studies, strategic communication, professional writing, journalism, and speech pathology and audiology. Communication studies pairs interpersonal, conflict, intercultural, and health communication with a capstone, strategic communication adds campaign design plus media law and ethics, and professional writing runs four tracks from digital and technical writing to intercultural rhetoric. About 80 percent of students finish their degree institution-wide, and communication graduates report median earnings near $35,000 one year after finishing.

  • 33 credit hours in the major
  • Capstone project in applied communication
  • Core coursework in interpersonal, conflict, intercultural, and health communication
  • Electives in organizational, political, and computer-mediated communication
  • Internship and independent study options
  • Available online and at the Hamilton and Middletown regional campuses
  • 39 semester credit hours
  • Requires a minor or second major
  • 18 core credits plus a nine-credit campaign sequence
  • Media law and ethics course
  • Advanced diversity requirement
  • Prepares students for corporate, nonprofit, and public service roles
  • 36 semester hours, including five core courses
  • Four tracks: digital and technical, editing, public writing, intercultural rhetoric
  • Capstone course required
  • Internship course available
  • Students may design their own coherent track
  • Focus on print and digital publishing
  • 14 journalism courses in the major
  • Multimedia reporting focus
  • Faculty with professional newsroom experience
  • Multiple student media organizations
  • Optional second major or minor
  • Career paths in media and communications
ASHA accredited
  • ASHA-accredited program
  • 64 credit hours in the major
  • Combines speech pathology and audiology coursework
  • Junior-year clinical experience
  • Augmentative communication and counseling coursework
  • Senior seminar capstone; prepares students for graduate study

University of Cincinnati

#6

Cincinnati, OH · ~$26,000/yr (est.)

Cincinnati's anchor program is a public relations major carrying the Public Relations Society of America's Certification in Education for Public Relations, a credential held by fewer than 40 programs nationally. Students cover situation and audience analysis, strategic messaging, and program evaluation, and can join the PRSSA chapter or the student-run public relations firm. The department also offers professional writing with a six-year BA/JD option and a journalism major; about 75 percent of students complete their degree institution-wide, and earnings figures are not yet reported for these programs.

  • PRSA Certification in Education for Public Relations (CEPR)
  • 120 total credit hours
  • Internships and co-ops across Cincinnati agencies and corporations
  • PRSSA chapter and a student-run public relations firm
  • Coursework in situation analysis, strategic messaging, and evaluation
  • 11:1 student-faculty ratio; departmental honors available
  • 120 total credit hours with a required capstone
  • Client-based class projects and a robust internship program
  • Undergraduate literary journal Short Vine
  • Six-year BA/JD option
  • Faculty who work as professional writers and editors
  • Prepares students for editing, publishing, and technical communication roles
  • Liberal arts foundation with strong writing development
  • Urban campus with access to Cincinnati media outlets
  • Multiple career pathways across news and digital media

Denison University

#7

Granville, OH · $40,000/yr (est. net price)

Denison is the small-college option here, with communication built around rhetoric, relational communication, and media studies plus a journalism path on the same liberal arts base. Students write publication-ready articles, intern with employers such as NBC News and Deloitte, and can apply for Summer Scholars funding for independent research. About 79 percent of students complete their degree institution-wide, and communication graduates report median earnings near $47,400 one year after finishing and roughly $66,700 four years out.

  • Three focus areas: rhetoric, relational communication, media studies
  • Students write publication-ready articles
  • Internships with employers such as NBC News and Deloitte
  • Summer Scholars funding for independent research
  • Career communities in marketing, sales, and communication
  • Senior research project presented to employers and graduate programs
  • Study abroad options build cultural agility
  • Liberal arts approach to reporting and storytelling
  • Multimedia storytelling skills
  • Emphasis on ethics and independent reporting
  • Collaboration across departments
  • Preparation for a digital media landscape

Ohio University

#8

Athens, OH · ~$22,000/yr (est.)

Ohio University's communication programs sit in the Scripps College of Communication and reach students in Athens, at regional campuses, and through a fully online bachelor's track built for working adults. Communication studies covers public speaking, interpersonal and organizational communication, health communication, and public advocacy, while journalism puts students in student media from the first year and requires an internship. About 65 percent of students complete their degree institution-wide, and communication graduates report median earnings near $36,700 one year after finishing.

  • Bachelor of Science with 120 credit hours
  • 42 credit hours in communication courses plus an 18-credit related area
  • Core courses in public speaking, interpersonal communication, and theory
  • Concentration options in public advocacy and health communication
  • Capstone seminar plus service-learning and internship opportunities
  • Hybrid and campus formats at the Eastern and Southern campuses
  • 100 percent online with no face-to-face meetings
  • 120 credit hours; open to high school graduates and transfer students
  • Coursework in public speaking, media storytelling, and communication technology
  • Qualitative inquiry and mass media ethics components
  • Designed for working professionals and students at any stage
  • Hands-on reporting experience starting in the first year
  • Tracks in news and information and in strategic communication
  • Internship requirement
  • Multiple student media outlets for portfolio work
  • Professional networking with working journalists
  • Individualized course of study in multimedia journalism
  • Strong focus on ethics and communication law
  • Requires a second major or certificate
  • 3.0 GPA required for major courses
  • Advisor-approved internship
  • 100 percent online degree
  • Customizable course of study
  • 2.0 GPA minimum for transfer students
  • Award-winning alumni network
  • Career-focused curriculum

Bowling Green State University

#9

Bowling Green, OH · ~$24,000/yr (est.)

Bowling Green offers one of the broader communication menus in Ohio: a communication BA with professional, interpersonal, and advocacy concentrations, a public relations major with two required internships and a student-run agency, a journalism degree built on Falcon Media, and a communication disorders program that feeds the university's graduate pipeline. The communication major also offers a fast-track path to a master's in five years. About 64 percent of students complete their degree institution-wide, and public relations graduates report median earnings near $42,300 one year out and about $70,600 four years out.

  • Three concentrations: professional, interpersonal, advocacy and social justice
  • 120 credit hours with a capstone
  • Core coursework in communication theory, public speaking, and research methods
  • Internships integrated into the major
  • Student-run Falcon Media platforms
  • Accelerated BA to MA pathway in five years
  • 120 credit hours
  • Minimum of two required internships
  • Award-winning student-run agency
  • Direct partnerships with leading corporations
  • Curriculum taught by industry professionals
  • On-campus PRSSA chapter
  • Required minor outside journalism
  • Required capstone with guided clinical observation
  • Faculty expertise in audiology, autism, and stuttering
  • Undergraduate research and conference presentations
  • Living and learning community available
  • Active NSSLHA student organization
  • Graduate pathway to an accredited master's program
  • Hands-on work with Falcon Media
  • Professional media facilities
  • Modern multimedia production training
  • 20-hour minor requirement
  • Foreign language proficiency required
  • Minimum 2.5 GPA for graduation

Franciscan University of Steubenville

#10

Steubenville, OH · ~$24,000/yr (est.)

Franciscan takes a liberal arts approach to communication arts, with a journalism concentration and coursework in writing, reporting, editing, and multimedia storytelling. Students produce work for real audiences through the campus newspaper the Troubadour, the campus radio station, and television production, including a program made for EWTN, so they graduate with a portfolio rather than only transcripts. The university is small and Catholic in character, about 75 percent of students complete their degree institution-wide, and communication graduates report median earnings near $34,000 one year out.

  • Concentration in journalism
  • Hands-on work at the campus newspaper, the Troubadour
  • On-campus radio station and television production
  • Produces a television program for EWTN
  • Coursework in writing, reporting, editing, and multimedia storytelling
  • Alumni working at major networks and news organizations
  • Multimedia concentration
  • Digital media skill development
  • Strategic communication training
  • Multimedia storytelling across platforms
  • Digital broadcasting and production focus
  • Hands-on media production training
  • Catholic liberal arts setting
  • Preparation for professional communication roles

How We Ranked Ohio Communication Programs

What factors actually matter when comparing communication programs, and how do rankings translate into real outcomes for students?

Unlike rankings that lean heavily on reputation surveys or peer assessments, our methodology centers on measurable outcomes that directly affect your education and career trajectory. Here is how we evaluated Ohio's communication programs.

The Five Core Ranking Factors

Our ranking considers five weighted criteria:

  • Net Price: The average cost students actually pay after scholarships and financial aid, drawn from institution-wide data. This is not a guaranteed sticker price but reflects what typical students pay.
  • Graduation Rate: Institution-wide completion rates that signal how well a school supports students through degree completion.
  • Program-Level Earnings: Salary outcomes for communication graduates specifically, sourced from College Scorecard data where available.
  • Delivery Format Availability: Whether programs offer online, hybrid, or evening options for working professionals.
  • Concentration Breadth: The range of specializations available, from public relations to digital media to organizational communication.

Why Our Approach Differs

Many popular rankings rely on subjective measures like employer reputation surveys or heavily weight selectivity, which tells you more about who gets in than what they get out of their degree. We prioritize transparency around cost and outcomes because those factors shape your return on investment. For a deeper look at how communication degree salary varies across institutions, our national analysis offers useful context.

Graduation rates, while institution-wide rather than program-specific, indicate whether a school provides the academic support and resources students need. When combined with program-level earnings data, these metrics reveal which schools consistently produce graduates who find meaningful employment at competitive salaries.

Understanding the Limitations

No ranking is perfect. Net price averages vary based on family income, residency status, and individual aid packages. Earnings data reflects graduates from previous years, so current market conditions may differ. We present these figures as useful benchmarks rather than guarantees, helping you make informed comparisons as you narrow your options.

Most Affordable Communication Degrees in Ohio

Across all 29 communication programs we reviewed in Ohio, average net prices range from under $4,000 to well over $30,000, making affordability a key factor in your decision. The seven public universities on this list cluster between roughly $3,925 and $17,339 in net price, while the lone private institution, Otterbein University, carries a sticker price of $35,548 but brings its effective net cost down to $19,237 through institutional aid. That public vs. private pricing gap is worth noting: even after grants and scholarships, the most affordable private option still costs more than all but the priciest public programs on this list.

SchoolNet PriceIn-State TuitionOut-of-State TuitionFormatGraduation Rate
Ohio University, Eastern Campus$3,925$6,362$9,444Hybrid20.7%
Youngstown State University$12,767$9,926$10,286On Campus50.5%
University of Akron$13,946$13,135$20,815Online51.9%
Cleveland State University$14,764$12,982$18,502On Campus50.6%
Wright State University$15,415$10,991$20,691On Campus41.7%
University of Toledo$17,249$12,157$21,517On Campus57.0%
Ohio State University$17,339$13,244$40,022On Campus87.7%
Otterbein University (Private)$19,237$35,548$35,548On Campus67.9%

Online vs. On-Campus Communication Programs in Ohio

Most Ohio communication bachelor's programs are still built around a physical campus, but a few fully online and hybrid options give working professionals a realistic path to finishing a degree without leaving their jobs. Net prices below are institution-wide average annual figures from IPEDS and College Scorecard (2024). They reflect what students actually pay after grants, not the sticker price. If you need to keep earning while you study, the hybrid programs offer the most flexibility. If you can relocate or commute, the campus programs give you the deepest internship pipelines.

AttributeOnlineOn-CampusBoth (Hybrid)
Average annual net price$13,946 (University of Akron) to $27,221 (The University of Findlay)$12,767 (Youngstown State) to $41,190 (Case Western Reserve)$20,787 (Kent State) to $21,637 (Ohio University)
Where to find themUniversity of Akron, The University of FindlayThe large majority of programs ranked here, from Ohio State and Miami to Denison and XavierKent State University, Ohio University (Eastern campus)
Concentration availabilityNarrow: both online options center on organizational communicationWidest range: Dayton and Capital each list 5 concentrations, plus standalone PR, journalism, social media, and communication sciences degreesModerate: Kent State offers 2 concentrations, and Ohio University offers a single communication studies track
Internship and networking accessAkron connects online students with internships at local organizationsStrongest pipelines in Columbus (Ohio State, Capital), Cleveland (Case Western, Cleveland State), and Cincinnati (University of Cincinnati, Xavier)Kent State includes an internship option, and Ohio University adds service learning and internships
Who it suits bestFull-time workers, rural students, and adults adding a second major who need full schedule controlStudents who can relocate or commute and want student media, co-ops, and face-to-face mentoringProfessionals near a campus who want online flexibility but still value some in-person classes

Communication Concentrations and Specializations at Ohio Schools

Which communication concentration actually matches your career goals, and where can you find it in Ohio?

Ohio's communication programs cluster into several distinct specialization areas. Understanding these groupings helps you target schools that offer exactly what you need, rather than settling for whatever happens to be nearby or well-known.

Most Common Concentrations: PR, Advertising, and Strategic Communication

Public relations and advertising concentrations dominate Ohio's landscape. The University of Cincinnati, Kent State University, and University of Mount Union all offer dedicated public relations tracks. Kent State's program holds certification from the Public Relations Society of America, making it particularly attractive for students who want industry-recognized credentials from day one. Strategic communication and organizational communication tracks appear at Marietta College, Bowling Green State University, and The University of Findlay, preparing graduates for corporate communications, internal messaging, and marketing roles. For those considering graduate-level study in this area, online masters in organizational communication programs can build on these foundations.

Growing Specializations: Digital Media and Social Media

Digital media concentrations have expanded significantly across Ohio schools. Ashland University offers a fully converged Digital Media Journalism degree, while Youngstown State University provides a dedicated Social Media track that includes website construction and professional social media management. Wilmington College gives students access to dedicated media labs covering Adobe Creative Suite and video production. These concentrations prepare graduates for content strategy, digital marketing, and emerging media roles that barely existed a decade ago.

Specialized and Rare Tracks

Health communication and communication disorders represent more specialized pathways. Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland State University, Baldwin Wallace University, Mount Vernon Nazarene University, and University of Toledo all offer programs preparing students for speech-language pathology or audiology graduate study. These tracks lead directly to careers in hospital systems, rehabilitation centers, school districts, and public health agencies.

Ohio State University offers Communication Analysis and Engagement, while Miami University emphasizes interpersonal, conflict, and intercultural communication contexts. Capital University and University of Dayton each provide five concentration options, giving students exceptional flexibility to tailor their education.

Matching Concentration to Career Trajectory

Your concentration choice shapes your career path more than the name on your diploma. Health communication opens doors to hospital systems, nonprofit health organizations, and public health agencies. Strategic and organizational communication prepares you for corporate marketing, internal communications, and human resources roles. Public relations tracks lead to agency positions, corporate communications departments, and media relations. Digital and social media concentrations connect to content marketing, brand management, and emerging technology companies.

Before committing to a program, identify which concentration aligns with your five-year career vision. A highly ranked school without your preferred specialization may serve you worse than a lesser-known program that directly matches your professional goals.

What Ohio Communication Graduates Actually Earn

Program-level earnings shortly after graduation are not yet published for most Ohio communication programs. However, institutional-level data from the College Scorecard offers a useful proxy: median earnings roughly a decade after enrollment. For context, the national median wage for media and communication occupations reached about $70,300 in 2024 according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, while Ohio-based media and communication workers earned a mean of roughly $44,700. The figures below show how graduates from top Ohio schools compare to those benchmarks over time.

Median earnings for graduates of eight Ohio schools ranging from $56,996 at Findlay to $87,989 at Case Western Reserve, per College Scorecard

Questions to Ask Yourself

  1. Do you want a generalist communication degree or a specialized concentration?

    A generalist degree provides broad career flexibility, while a concentration equips you with specialized skills for fields like PR or media. Your choice shapes which jobs you qualify for after graduation.

  2. Is staying under a specific budget more important than school prestige?

    Prestige can boost your network but often at a higher cost. In Ohio, many affordable, accredited programs still offer strong career outcomes, so budget need not sacrifice quality.

  3. Will you need a fully online program to balance work or family obligations?

    Online programs accommodate work and family, letting you study on your time. On-campus study, though, builds in-person connections that can be valuable for communication careers.

Career Paths and Job Market for Communication Graduates in Ohio

Some communication graduates thrive in the fast-paced energy of an agency, while others prefer the strategic focus of a corporate communications department. Ohio's diverse economy supports both paths, with strong demand across public relations, marketing, digital media, and internal communications.1

Common Job Titles for Communication Graduates

With a bachelor's in communication, you qualify for roles that demand clear writing, strategic thinking, and strong interpersonal skills.2 Typical positions include:

  • Public Relations Specialist: Manages external communications and media relations for brands, nonprofits, or agencies.
  • Corporate Communications Associate: Supports internal messaging and external brand communications within a company.
  • Social Media Manager: Develops and executes content strategies across digital platforms to engage audiences.
  • Content Strategist: Plans and creates compelling content for websites, campaigns, and publications.
  • Media Planner: Researches and purchases advertising space to reach target demographics effectively.
  • Employer Brand Specialist: Promotes company culture to attract top talent, often within HR or talent acquisition teams.
  • Internal Communications Specialist: Keeps employees informed and connected through newsletters, intranets, and events.

Key Employer Hubs in Ohio

Ohio's three largest metros each offer distinct ecosystems for communication professionals.3

  • Columbus serves as the state capital and is home to insurers like Nationwide, financial giants such as JPMorgan Chase, and healthcare systems including OhioHealth and Nationwide Children's Hospital. State agencies and The Ohio State University also hire communication grads for public affairs roles.
  • Cleveland boasts a strong corporate presence with Progressive Insurance, KeyBank, and Sherwin-Williams, plus renowned hospitals like the Cleveland Clinic and University Hospitals. Media outlets and agencies such as Marcus Thomas and Brokaw provide additional opportunities.
  • Cincinnati is anchored by consumer goods and financial firms, including Procter & Gamble, Kroger, and Fifth Third Bank. Healthcare networks like TriHealth, Cincinnati Children's, and UC Health maintain robust communications teams as well.

Building Experience Through Internships

Internships are critical for launching your career, and Ohio companies run structured programs that often lead to full-time offers. In Columbus, Nationwide, JPMorgan Chase, Cardinal Health, and Huntington Bank host summer internships in corporate communications.4 Cleveland's top programs include opportunities at Progressive, Sherwin-Williams, KeyBank, and the Cleveland Clinic.3 Cincinnati companies like Procter & Gamble, Kroger, and Cintas are known for competitive internships in brand communications and PR.3

If you're considering advancing your credentials after completing your bachelor's, Ohio also offers excellent master's in communication programs in Ohio. While entry-level salaries vary, communication graduates in Ohio benefit from a strong job market. For detailed earnings data, refer to our infographic section, which breaks down median wages for communication majors across the state.

Accreditation and Transfer-Credit Considerations

What Is Accreditation and Why Does It Matter?

Accreditation is a quality check that ensures your degree meets certain academic standards. For communication programs, there are two levels to know about. Regional accreditation, granted here by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC), validates that an entire university meets high standards for academics, finances, and student support. Almost every reputable four-year school in Ohio holds regional accreditation, and it is essential for federal financial aid eligibility and employer recognition.

Programmatic accreditation, on the other hand, focuses on specific fields. In communication, the gold standard is accreditation from the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC). Earning this seal means a program's curriculum, faculty, and resources meet rigorous industry benchmarks.1 While many excellent communication programs do not pursue ACEJMC accreditation, those that do commit to continuous improvement and external review.

ACEJMC-Accredited Communication Programs in Ohio

Only a handful of Ohio schools hold ACEJMC accreditation. According to the most recent listing, the following institutions have met these demanding standards:1

  • Bowling Green State University
  • Kent State University
  • Ohio University (E. W. Scripps School of Journalism)2

Attending an ACEJMC-accredited program can be especially valuable if you plan to enter competitive fields like journalism or strategic communication. However, keep in mind that many Ohio communication programs deliver strong outcomes without ACEJMC accreditation; regional accreditation alone ensures a solid academic foundation. When comparing programs, weigh accreditation alongside other factors like cost, location, and alumni success. If flexibility is a priority, you might also explore a bachelor of communication online degree to expand your options beyond in-state campuses.

Ohio's Transfer System for Communication Majors

If you begin at a community college, Ohio's statewide transfer policies can save you time and money. The Ohio Department of Higher Education oversees a transfer module, a set of general education courses that transfer seamlessly between public institutions. For communication majors, the Transfer Assurance Guide (TAG) offers course-by-course equivalencies for foundational prerequisites like public speaking, introductory media writing, and mass communication theory. With proper planning, you can complete an associate degree and transfer most, if not all, credits toward a bachelor's in communication at a four-year university.

Confirm Your Transfer Path Before You Enroll

Transfer policies can work smoothly, but fine print matters. Always verify course-by-course articulation agreements directly with the four-year program you plan to attend. A course that seems equivalent might not satisfy a specific requirement, and some programs have minimum grade thresholds for transfer credits. Reach out to academic advisors at both your current and target schools early. This step prevents surprises and ensures you stay on track for graduation.

How to Choose the Right Communication Program in Ohio

Ohio has more communication programs than most professionals have time to research thoroughly, which makes a clear decision framework less of a luxury and more of a necessity.

Budget and Net Price

Sticker tuition is rarely what you pay. Every accredited school must publish a net price calculator, and running your numbers through it takes about ten minutes. The result reflects grants, institutional aid, and scholarships applied to a student profile like yours. Two schools that look far apart on tuition can land surprisingly close once aid is factored in. Use those net price figures, not the published rate, as your baseline for comparison.

Format and Scheduling Fit

If you are working full time, format is not a minor preference: it is a deciding factor. Online and hybrid programs let you complete coursework on your schedule rather than around a classroom's. Look specifically for programs that offer asynchronous options or evening sections, because synchronous-only online courses can be just as schedule-restrictive as in-person classes. Before applying anywhere, confirm which courses require real-time attendance and how many are self-paced.

Specialization Match

Communication is a broad field, and the concentrations a school offers signal what it actually prepares you to do. A program built around media production serves a different career trajectory than one centered on masters in organizational communication or public relations. Map the available specializations against the roles you are targeting, not just the general appeal of the department.

Career ROI and Institutional Support

Earnings outcomes vary by program, and graduation rates serve as a useful proxy for how well a school supports its students to completion. A program with strong advising, career services, and alumni networks tends to show higher graduation rates, and those same resources are what convert a degree into a job offer.

Your Concrete Next Step

Narrow your list to three programs that clear your budget, format, and specialization filters. Pull the net price estimate for each, review their concentration offerings side by side, and then request information directly from each program. Admissions counselors can clarify scheduling details, transfer credit policies, and financial aid timelines that are not always visible on a school's website. Three schools is a manageable comparison, and most applicants who get that far find one clear fit.

Frequently Asked Questions About Communication Degrees in Ohio

Choosing a communication program in Ohio involves weighing cost, format, accreditation, and career potential. Below, we answer the questions prospective students ask most often, drawing on the data and analysis covered earlier in this article.

The answer depends on your goals, but Ohio University and Kent State University consistently rank among the top choices. Ohio University's Scripps College of Communication is one of the oldest and most respected communication schools in the country, while Kent State offers strong journalism and public relations tracks. Our ranked list above factors in graduation rates, affordability, and career outcomes to help you compare.

Tuition varies widely. Public universities such as Youngstown State and the University of Akron offer some of the most affordable options, with in-state tuition well below $10,000 per year. Private institutions can cost significantly more. Our affordability table earlier in the article breaks down estimated costs so you can compare programs side by side and identify the cheapest communication degree in Ohio.

Yes. Several Ohio schools now offer fully online or hybrid communication bachelor's degrees. Franklin University and Ashland University are among the institutions with flexible online formats designed for working professionals. Our comparison section on online vs. on-campus programs outlines differences in scheduling, collaboration opportunities, and overall cost to help you decide which format fits your life.

A Bachelor of Arts in Communication provides broad training in writing, public speaking, media literacy, and critical thinking. If you want a more specialized skill set, a Bachelor of Science with a concentration in strategic communication or digital media may be a stronger fit. The concentrations section above details the specializations Ohio schools offer, from public relations to health communication.

Communication graduates in Ohio pursue careers in public relations, marketing, corporate communications, journalism, social media management, and human resources. Major employers include healthcare systems, media companies, and Fortune 500 firms headquartered in cities like Columbus and Cincinnati. Our career paths section provides salary benchmarks and demand data for the most common roles.

Ohio schools offer a wide range of specializations, including public relations, journalism, organizational communication, digital media production, strategic communication, and health communication. Some programs also feature emerging tracks in data analytics for communication or social media strategy. Check our concentrations section for a school-by-school breakdown of available focus areas.

Several are. Kent State University, Ohio University, and Bowling Green State University hold accreditation from the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC). This credential signals that a program meets rigorous national standards. Not every communication program requires ACEJMC accreditation to be high quality, but it can be an important factor, especially for journalism and public relations tracks. Our accreditation section covers what to look for.

More Ohio Communication Programs to Consider

The ten programs ranked above are not the only paths into the field. Ohio colleges and universities of every size offer communication degrees, from large public universities with online options to small private colleges with required internships and capstones. The directory below groups additional schools by region so you can start with the part of the state that fits your life.

Southwest Ohio

Xavier University
Xavier's Bachelor of Arts in Communication Studies emphasizes persuasive writing, critical analysis, and strategic messaging, with courses such as Organizational Communication and Interpersonal Conflict Management. A Senior Seminar pairs students with a real client, and a Digital and Strategic Communication track adds advertising, public relations, and digital media concentrations.

Central Ohio

Otterbein University
Otterbein blends theory and practice in a B.A. in Communication Studies that covers interpersonal communication, argumentation and advocacy, and intercultural communication. Students build persuasive speaking and conflict mediation skills, and the university also offers a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism and Media Communication.
Ohio Wesleyan University
Ohio Wesleyan's communication major combines digital media, persuasive communication, and intercultural understanding, with a required internship and a faculty-mentored capstone. The flexible curriculum allows focus areas such as political, health, or business communication, along with travel-learning courses and study-away options.
Capital University
Capital organizes its communication program around analysis, application, and artistry, with five concentrations that include Communication Studies, Organizational Communication, and Strategic Influence and Civic Leadership. Experiential options include intercollegiate debate and theatre productions, and internships have placed students at NBC4-TV, Ohio Health, and Eddie Bauer.

Northeast Ohio

Kent State University
Communication Studies majors design their own plan of study across global and intercultural communication, advocacy, social media, corporate communication, and presentational speaking. The 120-credit program can be completed fully online or in person at the Kent or Stark campus, with internship and study abroad options.
Cleveland State University
Cleveland State's Journalism and Promotional Communication major includes an Integrated Promotional Communication track, along with combined degrees such as Journalism and Criminology and Journalism and Sociology. The School of Communication also offers minors in digital content production and health communication.
University of Akron
Akron's 100% online Bachelor of Arts in Communication Studies prepares students for work in human resources, training, sales, health communication, conflict mediation, and nonprofit outreach. Online classes are taught by the same faculty who teach in person, and internships with local organizations are available.
Walsh University
Walsh covers public speaking, rhetoric, interpersonal communication, and mass media, with four tracks: Advertising and Public Relations, Broadcast Communication, Digital Media, and Print Journalism. Media labs support video production, graphic design, and podcasting, and some tracks run in flexible eight-week sessions online.
Hiram College
Hiram's B.A. in Communication covers public communication, media law and ethics, and intercultural communication, with concentrations in Health Communication, Public Relations, or Sports Communication. A 10:1 student-to-faculty ratio and a tuition rate locked for four years are among the program's features.

Northwest Ohio

University of Toledo
Toledo's communication major includes an Organizational and Strategic Communication concentration, with real-world public relations campaigns, social media work, and internships with organizations such as the Mud Hens and Walleye. Student groups include SPJ, PRSSA, and WXUT, and study abroad is available in Germany, Italy, and Belgium.
The University of Findlay
Findlay's Organizational Communication major blends marketing, journalism, and strategic communication, emphasizing verbal, written, and digital skills along with conflict mediation. Many courses are offered online, which makes the program a practical second major for students balancing other commitments.
Bluffton University
Bluffton's Communication and Media program includes a journalism concentration with training in digital, print, and convergent media. Students gain practical experience through campus media and an FM radio station, developing storytelling skills that transfer across platforms.

North Central Ohio

Mount Vernon Nazarene University
Mount Vernon Nazarene's Communication and Media program offers digital media and strategic communication concentrations with hands-on production training and a professional portfolio requirement. Students work with campus radio station WNZR, Adobe Creative Cloud, and a chroma key studio, and the curriculum integrates Christian faith throughout.
Ashland University
Ashland's B.A. in Communication covers health communication, strategic messaging, conflict mediation, and crisis communication, with concentrations in Communication Studies, Public Relations, and Sport Communication. Selected concentrations can be completed online, and students may add a second major.

Southeast Ohio

Marietta College
Marietta's Strategic Communication major offers tracks in Organizational Communication and Public Relations and in Advertising and Public Relations. Internships are required for graduation, and students can join a student-led consulting firm while building a portfolio of campaigns and client projects.

Recent Articles

In this article

Follow us