What you’ll learn in this article…
- Oregon communication graduates earn a median of $36,700 one year out and $49,200 four years after graduation.
- The Associate of Arts Oregon Transfer (AAOT) degree streamlines community college credits into most public university programs.
- Oregon State University, University of Oregon, and several private colleges offer distinct specializations from strategic communication to media studies.
- Online options from schools like Oregon State let working professionals complete a full communication degree remotely.
Oregon sits at a productive intersection for communication professionals: Portland alone houses the global headquarters of Nike and a dense cluster of Intel operations, and the city's advertising and public relations sector has grown into one of the most active creative markets in the Pacific Northwest. That demand reaches directly into hiring pipelines for graduates trained in strategic messaging, media production, journalism, and organizational communication.
The ten programs ranked here span public flagships, regional universities, and private liberal arts colleges, with in-state tuition ranging from roughly $12,700 at Southern Oregon University to more than $56,000 at Pacific University before aid. Format options are broader than many applicants expect: Oregon State offers its communication degree through both campus enrollment and fully online delivery, and Southern Oregon runs a 100-percent online option with a social media concentration built around contemporary practice.
The practical tension for most applicants is not admissions selectivity, since acceptance rates across these programs sit between 77 and 95 percent. It is the cost-to-outcome calculation: institution-wide median earnings ten years after enrollment range from roughly $49,000 to $83,000 across these schools, and net price after aid varies just as sharply. Sorting through those numbers takes more than a tuition comparison.
Oregon's Top Communication Bachelor's Programs, Ranked
Ten Oregon institutions award bachelor's degrees that lead into communication careers, ranging from large public research universities with professional-grade newsrooms and studios to small private colleges where classes stay small and internships start early. Each entry below highlights what makes the school distinctive, which majors and concentrations you can actually enroll in, and what federal earnings data shows about graduates where that information is reported.
How we ranked these
- On-time completion rates
- Earnings ten years after entry
- Program-level earnings after graduation
- Net price after financial aid
- Graduation and retention rates
- Original research on individual programs
- Federal institutional data (NCES-IPEDS) covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
- State cost-of-living adjustment from BEA Regional Price Parities — bea.gov
- College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
University of Portland
#1Portland, OR · $28,000/yr (est. net price)
Best for: Community-engaged students wanting local internships
The University of Portland treats communication as a liberal arts discipline, and its bachelor's degree lets students build a plan with an advisor across three areas: organizational and relational communication, culture and communication, and environmental communication. A senior capstone and community-based internships place students with Portland-area organizations, and the program is designed to prepare graduates both for professional roles and for graduate study. All coursework is delivered on campus in North Portland, and the school's graduation rate sits near 80 percent. Federal program-level earnings for communication graduates are not reported.
- Three concentration areas: organizational, cultural, environmental
- Senior capstone project required
- Community-based internships in Portland
- Covers interpersonal, organizational, cultural, and mediated communication
- 45 credit hour major
- Concentration in organizational and relational communication
- Required core courses plus research methods
- Upper-division electives selected with an advisor
- 45 major credit hours
- Required courses include public speaking
- Sample courses include media literacy and intercultural communication
- Research methods coursework available
- Concentration in environmental communication
- Environmental organizing and advocacy topics
- Upper-division coursework customized with an advisor
- Sample coursework spans public speaking and media literacy
University of Oregon
#2Eugene, OR · ~$22,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Aspiring journalists seeking newsroom experience
The University of Oregon's School of Journalism and Communication anchors one of the state's best-known media programs, and the journalism major splits into three tracks: writing and reporting, photojournalism, and broadcast and on-air. Students work with professional-grade multimedia equipment and broadcast studios, are mentored by award-winning faculty, and complete 72 credits in the major. The curriculum emphasizes multiplatform, data-driven storytelling grounded in media ethics, and the Eugene location keeps students close to Oregon newsrooms and regional outlets. Program-level earnings for these tracks are not separately reported in federal data.
- Advanced reporting and data journalism techniques
- Investigative and public affairs reporting focus
- 72 total program credits
- Award-winning faculty mentorship
- Access to professional photo equipment
- Multimedia storytelling focus
- Requires a School of Journalism or UO minor
- Emphasis on media ethics and visual reporting
- State-of-the-art broadcast studios
- Audio and video journalism focus
- Hands-on storytelling for on-air work
- Comprehensive media and production training
Oregon State University
#3Corvallis, OR · $15,000 – $20,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Working adults needing flexible online study
Oregon State's School of Communication houses a Communication Studies major that explores interpersonal, small group, organizational, and societal communication, with core work in public speaking, rhetorical theory, and research methods. The degree is offered as a BA, BS, HBA, or HBS, requires 53 credits of major coursework inside a 180-credit degree, and adds an online Ecampus pathway beginning Fall 2026. The school also feeds students into its own master's and doctoral programs in communication. Communication graduates earned a median of about $40,700 one year after completion and about $61,100 four years out, according to federal data.
- 53 credits of major coursework within a 180-credit degree
- Available as a BA, BS, HBA, or HBS
- Core courses in public speaking and rhetorical theory
- Qualitative and quantitative research methods
- Prepares students for MA and PhD graduate programs
- Online Ecampus pathway launching Fall 2026
- Leads to careers in public relations, training, and development
- Four-year sample plan and academic advising
Linfield University
#4McMinnville, OR · $25,000 – $30,000/yr (est.)
Linfield pairs a small liberal arts setting in McMinnville with two communication routes: a Communication Arts major built on rhetoric, persuasion, and intercultural study, and a Journalism and Media Studies major with digital storytelling and public relations and advertising concentrations. Students get hands-on practice through student-run media organizations, internships, and a Kappa Tau Alpha honor society chapter. Communication Arts graduates earned a median of roughly $30,900 one year after graduation and about $54,100 four years out, based on federal data.
- 40 total credit hours
- Bachelor of Arts degree only
- Core courses in interpersonal communication, public speaking, and persuasion
- Senior seminar capstone required
- Electives in intercultural, gendered, and nonverbal communication
- Three concentration options
- Student-run media organizations on campus
- Internship opportunities with local outlets
- Kappa Tau Alpha honor society chapter
- Flexible multimedia curriculum
- Multimedia content creation skills
- Platform-versatile media training
- Creative narrative development
- Strategic communication curriculum
- Digital media skills training
- Advertising concentration option
Willamette University
#5Salem, OR · $25,000 – $30,000/yr (est.)
Willamette's Civic Communication and Media major sits directly across from the Oregon State Capitol in Salem, which shapes a curriculum built on political communication, media studies, rhetoric, and digital media. Students develop argumentation and media production skills, complete a Senior Seminar capstone, and pursue internships with organizations such as the Portland Trail Blazers and state government offices, and the university offers merit scholarships starting at $28,000 per year. One year after graduation, communication majors earned a median of about $31,500, rising to roughly $70,400 four years out in federal data.
- 124 total credit hours
- Senior Seminar capstone required
- Located across from the Oregon State Capitol
- Internships with the Trail Blazers and state offices
- Debate Union and study abroad opportunities
- Emphasizes civic engagement and public discourse
- Small class sizes with close faculty support
Oregon Institute of Technology
#6Klamath Falls, OR · $15,000 – $20,000/yr (est.)
Oregon Tech takes a deliberately individualized approach at its Klamath Falls campus: communication studies students declare a professional goal after their second year and design a plan of study with faculty and an advisory committee. The university also offers Professional Writing degrees with scientific and technical writing and digital media concentrations, both built around a 12-credit senior externship and transfer credit from Oregon community colleges. Core skills span technological proficiency, relationship building, adaptive communication, and conflict management, and the university reports an 81 percent job placement rate for communication studies graduates. Program-level earnings at the one- and four-year marks are not reported in federal data.
- 81% job placement rate reported
- Declare a professional goal in year two
- Advisory committee approves the study plan
- Four core areas including adaptive communication
- Small classes taught by experienced professors
- Required externship before graduation
- 12-credit senior externship
- Portfolio development focus
- Customizable with a technical focus area
- Accepts transfer credits from community colleges
- Prepares students for business analysis, grant writing, and UX roles
- Faculty advisor assigned to each student
- Concentration in scientific and technical writing
- Highly customizable curriculum
- Flexible externship placement
- Coursework in web authoring and science writing
- Concentration in digital media
- Project management for writers
- Communication in leadership courses
- Prepares students for roles across technical industries
George Fox University
#7Newberg, OR · $30,000 – $35,000/yr (est.)
George Fox frames public relations as values-driven work, and its communication major with a public relations concentration covers crisis communication, media relations, campaign strategy, and data storytelling through projects with real clients. Every student completes an internship, and the department runs a PRSSA chapter that connects students to Oregon's public relations community. Classes stay small by design, and graduates move into brand management, content marketing, crisis communications, and social media roles. Federal data shows a median of about $37,000 one year after graduation for these graduates, with longer-term figures not yet reported.
- Capstone required
- Every student completes an internship
- PRSSA chapter membership
- Crisis communication and campaign strategy coursework
- Real-world client projects
- Faith-based ethics emphasis
- Professional portfolio development
- Small classes with personal attention
Portland State University
#8Portland, OR · ~$10,000/yr (est.)
Portland State delivers a flexible 56-credit communication degree with a 12-credit core, at least 28 upper-division credits, and room for electives that students choose around their own interests. A separate journalism concentration adds community-focused reporting, and a 4+1 pathway lets qualified undergraduates begin graduate coursework while still enrolled. The program leans on the university's Portland-centered network of nonprofits, agencies, and media outlets for internships and applied projects, and the university runs automatic admission and dual-enrollment partnerships with area community colleges. Median earnings for these graduates run about $35,100 one year after completion and about $59,200 four years out.
- 56 total credit hours
- 12 credits of required core coursework
- At least 28 upper-division credits
- At least 16 credits at the 400 level
- Coursework tailored to personal interests
- Builds critical reasoning and writing skills
- 4+1 master's degree option
- Award-winning faculty
- Community-focused reporting on local issues
- Versatile preparation across media roles
Pacific University
#9Forest Grove, OR · ~$35,000/yr (est.)
Pacific University's journalism major in Forest Grove combines reporting fundamentals with digital storytelling and multimedia production across print, social media, podcasting, and video. The four-year BA requires 24 core credits and 16 elective credits, includes ethics and media law coursework, and culminates in capstone journalism projects, with internships placing students in local and regional newsrooms. Community engagement is central to the program, and students regularly report on Forest Grove and Washington County issues. Program-level earnings are not reported in federal data.
- Four-year BA degree program
- 24 core credits plus 16 elective credits
- Ethics and media law coursework
- Capstone journalism projects
- Internships with local and regional media
- Reporting on Forest Grove and Washington County issues
- Multimedia production across print, social, podcast, and video
Southern Oregon University
#10Ashland, OR · ~$17,000/yr (est.)
Southern Oregon University offers a BA or BS in Communication with a concentration in social media and public engagement, and the degree is available fully online for working professionals and place-bound students across Oregon. Coursework blends interpersonal, group, and organizational communication with practical social media strategy, aimed at the public agencies, nonprofits, and community organizations that need strategic communicators. Federal data puts median earnings for these graduates at about $30,400 one year after completion and roughly $49,500 at four years.
- Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science
- 100% online option available
- Interpersonal, group, and organizational communication training
- Social media strategy and public engagement focus
- Hands-on, practical skills approach
- Financial aid available
- Prepares graduates for media, public relations, marketing, and advocacy
How We Ranked Oregon's Communication Programs
Choosing the right communication program is a big decision, especially when you're balancing work, life, and educational goals. To help you compare Oregon's options with confidence, we evaluated each program using a consistent, data-driven methodology that reflects what matters most to working professionals.
Our ranking process weighs several key factors:
- Academic reputation and accreditation status
- Breadth and relevance of communication concentrations (such as public relations, media studies, and strategic communication)
- Faculty credentials and industry experience
- Availability of flexible scheduling, including online and hybrid formats
- Tuition costs and financial aid opportunities
- Graduate outcomes, including employment rates and communication degree salary data
- Student support services, mentorship opportunities, and career placement resources
We also consider how well each program prepares students for Oregon's evolving media and corporate communication landscape. Programs that incorporate hands-on learning, real-world projects, and internship pipelines scored higher in our evaluation. Accreditation through recognized bodies carries significant weight, as it ensures your degree meets industry and employer standards.
Every program on this list earned its spot through measurable performance across these criteria, not advertising or institutional size. Our goal is to give you a clear, trustworthy picture so you can invest your time and tuition dollars wisely.
Questions to Ask Yourself
Are you prioritizing the lowest possible tuition, or are you willing to pay more for a program with stronger earning potential after graduation?
Oregon's communication programs vary widely in cost and graduate outcomes. Choosing the cheapest option saves money upfront but may limit your salary ceiling, while a pricier program at a well-connected university can pay off faster.
Do you have a specific concentration in mind, such as public relations, digital media, or journalism?
Not every Oregon program offers every specialization. If you already know your target career path, narrowing to schools with that concentration saves you from building expertise piecemeal through electives.
Do you plan to transfer community college credits, and how quickly do you need to finish your degree?
Oregon's community college articulation agreements vary by institution. A school with a formal transfer pathway can shave a full year off your timeline and thousands off your total cost.
Will you need to work full-time or part-time while earning your degree?
If income continuity is non-negotiable, a fully online or hybrid program matters more than rankings. Some Oregon schools offer evening and asynchronous options specifically designed for working adults.
Cost Comparison: Tuition and Net Price Across Oregon Communication Programs
Sticker price and what you actually pay can be very different numbers, especially at Oregon's private universities, where institutional aid often closes much of the gap. The table below compares published tuition rates alongside the average net price (the typical amount students pay after grants and scholarships) for each school on our list. All figures reflect the most recent federal data available.
| School | Sector | In-State Tuition | Out-of-State Tuition | Avg. Net Price | Median Debt at Graduation | Graduation Rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Portland State University | Public | $11,118 | $29,136 | $9,552 | $20,500 | 52.7% |
| Oregon Institute of Technology | Public | $13,260 | $37,196 | $15,706 | $22,500 | 53.8% |
| Southern Oregon University | Public | $12,762 | $31,887 | $16,732 | $20,332 | 42.5% |
| Oregon State University | Public | $14,400 | $38,190 | $19,604 | $21,221 | 70.1% |
| University of Oregon | Public | $15,320 | $42,516 | $22,182 | $20,139 | 71.7% |
| Willamette University | Private | $51,156 | $51,156 | $25,121 | $21,500 | 71.2% |
| Linfield University | Private | $51,736 | $51,736 | $26,536 | $25,000 | 70.5% |
| University of Portland | Private | $58,100 | $58,100 | $28,210 | $21,370 | 79.8% |
| George Fox University | Private | $41,320 | $41,320 | $31,679 | $24,250 | 72.0% |
| Pacific University | Private | $56,374 | $56,374 | $35,273 | $23,223 | 67.0% |
Related Articles
Salary and Career Outcomes for Oregon Communication Graduates
Salary outcomes for communication graduates depend on two intertwined factors: where you earned your degree and which corner of the field you enter after graduation. Oregon offers a useful case study because the state's communication labor market clusters around a handful of well-paying industries (athletic apparel, semiconductor manufacturing, advertising, and regional media) while also supporting steady demand for public-sector and nonprofit communicators across smaller cities.
What Oregon Graduates Earn Long-Term
The clearest cross-school signal we have is median earnings roughly a decade after enrollment, drawn from federal data on each institution's overall graduate population (not communication majors specifically, so read it as directional). Among the ranked Oregon programs, University of Portland alumni post the highest figure at about $82,800, followed by Linfield University around $78,600 and Oregon Institute of Technology near $72,300. The two large public flagships, Oregon State University and the University of Oregon, sit in the low-to-mid $60,000s ($64,010 and $61,324 respectively), while Portland State University graduates earn approximately $57,900 and Southern Oregon University graduates around $49,200. Program-level earnings broken out specifically for communication majors at the 1-year and 4-year marks are not yet published for these Oregon programs, so we can't isolate the communication-degree premium from each school's broader graduate average.
Occupational Wages Across Oregon
For a closer read on what communication work actually pays in Oregon, the Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics program publishes annual wage estimates by occupation and metro area.1 Public Relations Specialists (SOC 27-3031), Media and Communication Workers (SOC 27-3099), and Advertising and Promotions Managers (SOC 11-2011) are the three occupation codes most relevant to communication graduates, and the Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro metro consistently posts higher wages than statewide averages for all three, with managerial advertising roles paying the most. Oregon Employment Department's QualityInfo portal mirrors the same OEWS dataset if you want to drill into a specific metro.2
Where Graduates Land
Oregon's communication employer landscape is unusually concentrated for a mid-size state. Nike's global headquarters in Beaverton, Intel's massive Hillsboro campus, and Wieden+Kennedy's Portland flagship office anchor the corporate and agency side, while Pamplin Media Group, Oregon Public Broadcasting, and The Oregonian provide the bulk of traditional media roles. Smaller-market employers across Eugene, Salem, Bend, and Medford round out the picture, particularly for graduates of regional schools like the University of Oregon, Willamette, and Southern Oregon. Federal completion data confirms strong overall graduation rates at most ranked programs (70% or higher at seven of the ten), which suggests students are finishing on time and entering this labor market on schedule, though school-specific employment and earnings breakdowns for communication majors specifically are not yet reported.
Oregon Communication Graduate Earnings at a Glance
Program-level earnings at one and four years after graduation are not yet published for these Oregon communication programs. However, institution-wide median earnings ten years after enrollment offer a useful benchmark for comparing long-term return on investment across schools. The chart below shows how graduates from each institution fare a decade out.

Online vs. On-Campus Communication Degrees in Oregon
Choosing between online and on-campus formats is one of the most consequential decisions you will make when selecting a communication program. Several Oregon institutions, including Oregon State University, offer both delivery modes, giving you the flexibility to blend remote coursework with in-person experiences. Understanding the trade-offs helps you pick the format that fits your career stage and learning style.
- Online programs offer schedule flexibility that lets working professionals complete coursework around full-time jobs and family obligations.
- Studying online often carries a lower effective cost because you eliminate commuting, parking, and relocation expenses entirely.
- Online formats make strong programs accessible statewide, so students in rural or southern Oregon can earn the same credential.
- Schools offering both formats, such as Oregon State, let you take advantage of hybrid options that combine online convenience with occasional campus resources.
- On-campus students benefit from direct access to media production labs, recording studios, and professional-grade equipment for hands-on learning.
- In-person networking with faculty, classmates, and guest speakers builds relationships that often lead to internships and job referrals.
- Campus-based programs typically maintain established employer pipelines and career fairs that connect graduates with Oregon's communications industry.
- Online learners may miss spontaneous collaboration and face-to-face mentoring that can deepen understanding of interpersonal communication skills.
- Building a professional network remotely requires more intentional effort, since casual campus interactions do not happen organically online.
- On-campus programs demand a fixed schedule and physical presence, which can be difficult for professionals juggling work and family commitments.
- Attending classes in person usually means higher total costs when you factor in housing, transportation, and campus fees.
- Not every Oregon school offers a fully online communication bachelor's, so geographic limitations may narrow your on-campus choices significantly.
Specializations and Concentrations Available in Oregon
Oregon's communication programs range from tightly focused specializations to broad, flexible degrees that let you shape your own path. Knowing the difference matters, especially when your career goal points in a specific direction.
Strategic and Corporate Communication
If you are aiming for a career in public relations, corporate communications, or nonprofit outreach, a few schools stand out. George Fox University offers a dedicated Public Relations program, making it one of the only schools in the state where PR is the primary focus rather than a track within a broader degree. Oregon State University's Speech Communication program explicitly prepares students for public relations and training and development careers, covering organizational communication alongside interpersonal and small group dynamics. That dual emphasis is useful for anyone eyeing an in-house communications role or a consulting position.
Media, Journalism, and Digital Production
For students drawn to storytelling, multimedia, and the evolving media landscape, the University of Oregon's Journalism program offers multiple reporting and writing tracks with hands-on access to professional-grade equipment. Pacific University also runs a Journalism degree with a strong digital media and multimedia production focus. Southern Oregon University brings something relatively rare to this group: a Social Media and Public Engagement concentration, available fully online, which is the most explicitly digital-forward specialty among Oregon's ranked programs.
Interpersonal, Speech, and Organizational Communication
Several programs center on the human side of communication rather than media production. OSU's Speech Communication covers interpersonal, small group, and organizational contexts with both qualitative and quantitative research methods, a combination that prepares graduates for graduate study as well as corporate roles. Oregon Institute of Technology structures its Communication Studies program around four core communication areas, asking students to declare a professional goal by their second year, which forces a useful early focus. Portland State's program lets students tailor coursework to personal interests across interpersonal and organizational themes.
Civic, Cultural, and General Communication Studies
Willamette University's Civic Communication and Media program is essentially one of a kind in Oregon, blending civic engagement, media literacy, and debate in a setting steps from the state capitol. Linfield University's Communication Arts degree takes a similarly broad approach, emphasizing multicultural communication, ethics, and verbal and nonverbal competency without locking students into a single industry track. University of Portland gives students three concentration options shaped in collaboration with an advisor, which suits anyone still exploring where their communication skills will take them.
Matching Your Specialization to Your Career Goal
The practical takeaway: if you want agency or nonprofit PR work, George Fox or OSU's speech communication track deserve a close look. Digital media and journalism careers point toward UO or Pacific University. Social media management and public engagement roles are best served by Southern Oregon's online concentration, the only program in this list built around that specialty. Corporate and organizational communication careers can thrive from several programs, but OSU, OIT, and University of Portland offer the most structured pathways into that world. Graduates who later pursue advanced study may also want to explore a master's in communication in Oregon for deeper specialization.
Transfer-Friendly Communication Programs in Oregon
Oregon's statewide transfer articulation system makes the state one of the most transfer-friendly environments in the country for communication students, particularly those completing associate degrees at community colleges.
Understanding Oregon's AAOT Advantage
The Associate of Arts Oregon Transfer (AAOT) degree serves as your passport to streamlined admission at public universities across the state. When you complete an AAOT, your general education requirements are considered satisfied at receiving institutions, letting you focus immediately on upper-division communication coursework.1
At Portland State University, AAOT holders benefit from a lower GPA threshold for admission (2.0 compared to 2.25 for transfers without the degree).2 This distinction matters significantly for working adults juggling multiple responsibilities who may have experienced academic challenges earlier in their educational journey. PSU requires a minimum of 30 quarter credits for transfer admission, making it accessible for students who have completed even one year of community college work.2
Credit Requirements and Planning Your Transfer
Understanding how credits map to your communication major helps you plan efficiently. Portland State's communication bachelor's degree requires 180 quarter credits total, with 56 credits in the major itself.3 Here's what transfer students should know:
- Upper-division requirements: You'll need at least 62 upper-division credits overall, with 28 of those within communication coursework.4
- 400-level coursework: The major requires 16 credits at the 400 level, including 12 credits at 410 or above.4
- Lower-division communication transfer limit: Only 16 credits of lower-division communication courses count toward your major, so plan your community college coursework accordingly.5
Practical Steps for a Smooth Transfer
Start by requesting a transfer credit evaluation early in your application process. Academic advisors can identify exactly which courses will apply and help you avoid repeating content you've already mastered.
Meet with a communication department advisor at your target university before your final community college term. They can recommend specific community college courses that align with major requirements and identify any prerequisites you should complete before transferring.
For working adults, Oregon's transfer system offers genuine flexibility. Many communication programs accept evening and online course combinations that accommodate employment schedules, and your community college foundation ensures you arrive prepared for advanced study without starting from scratch. If you're considering graduate study after completing your bachelor's, Oregon also offers strong options for continuing your education at the master's in communication level.
Frequently Asked Questions About Communication Degrees in Oregon
Choosing the right communication program means sorting through a lot of details, from cost and format to career prospects. Below are the questions prospective students ask most often, answered with the latest data available.
Bachelors by State
Northeast11
Southeast12
Midwest12
Southwest4
DC & Territories1
Explore More Bachelors Topics
- Best Bachelor's in Business Communications Degrees
- Best Bachelor's in Journalism Degrees
- Best Bachelor's in Professional Writing Degrees
- Best Bachelor's in Public Relations Degrees
- Best Bachelor's in Social Media Degrees
- Best Bachelor's in Speech Pathology Programs
- Best Bachelor's in Strategic Communications Degrees
- Best Bachelor's in Technical Communication Degrees
- Online Bachelor's in Communication







