Best Learning and Behavior Disorders Schools Online
Updated September 16, 202623 min read

Top Online Schools for Learning & Behavior Disorders Degrees

Compare accredited online programs, licensure paths, and career outcomes to find your best fit in special education.

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • Fully online LBD programs start under 7,000 dollars in total tuition.
  • Special education teachers earn a national median above 65,000 dollars annually.
  • Graduate certificates can add LBD endorsement in as few as 12 credit hours.

A full master's degree or a 15-credit graduate certificate: that choice shapes how quickly you can add a learning and behavior disorders endorsement to an existing teaching license. K-12 districts across the country report persistent shortages of specialists trained to work with students who have emotional and behavioral disabilities, and several states now fast-track certification for teachers who complete targeted LBD coursework.

For already-licensed educators, a graduate certificate can wrap up in two to three semesters. Career changers or those seeking initial licensure typically need a full master's in special education with an LBD concentration, a longer commitment but one that often bundles student-teaching placements and state exam prep. Either route leads to the same classroom need: students whose challenges require more than general intervention strategies.

What Makes a Top Learning and Behavior Disorders Program?

A top learning and behavior disorders program combines evidence-based intervention strategies with practical classroom application to prepare you to support students with emotional, behavioral, and learning challenges in K-12 settings. Because "top" means different things to different people, understanding how programs earn that distinction helps you choose wisely.

How We Define Quality

The rankings here reflect a composite approach that weighs three measurable factors together: program cost, completion outcomes, and graduate earnings. No single prestige marker drives the list. Instead, programs rise when they deliver affordable tuition, strong graduation rates, and salary outcomes that justify the investment. This data-driven blend rewards institutions that perform well across the board rather than excelling in one area while falling short in others.

Online-Only Focus

This ranking includes only fully online programs. Hybrid formats requiring campus visits and traditional in-person options fall outside the scope. That focus matters for working educators who need scheduling flexibility without relocating or commuting to a physical campus.

Accreditation and State Approval

Before enrolling anywhere, verify that the program holds regional accreditation and aligns with CAEP standards for educator preparation. State departments of education often require specific program approvals for licensure or endorsement eligibility, and these requirements vary. A program ranking high on cost and outcomes still needs to satisfy your state's credentialing rules, so confirm approval status directly with the institution and your state licensing board.

What "Best" Really Means

This list highlights programs that balance affordability, student success, and career payoff. It does not crown a single winner based on reputation alone. If your priority is minimizing debt while maximizing earning potential, the composite approach surfaces options you might otherwise overlook.

Best Fully Online Learning and Behavior Disorders Programs, Ranked

Every program below is delivered 100% online, with no required campus visits and no hybrid residency. Each entry notes the degree or certificate level, the emphasis or concentration available, and the tuition figures reported by the institution, and the list follows our overall ranking order. Where an institution-wide graduation rate appears, treat it as background on the university rather than as an outcome guaranteed by any single certificate.

How we ranked these

Factors considered
  1. On-time program completion
  2. Earnings ten years after entry
  3. Affordability after grants and aid
  4. Institution-wide graduation and retention
  5. Online delivery and program focus
Data sources
  • Original research on individual programs
  • Federal institutional data (NCES-IPEDS) covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house

University of Virginia

#1

Charlottesville, VA · $24,000/yr

Best for: Licensed teachers adding a special education endorsement

The University of Virginia's School of Education and Human Development runs one of the clearest routes into special education for teachers who already hold a license. Its online certificate in special education, general curriculum, covers autism, dyslexia, traumatic brain injury, and emotional disabilities, and it includes 45 hours of clinical practice plus eligibility for a Virginia add-on endorsement. Credits roll directly into the school's M.Ed. in Special Education, so the certificate works as either a standalone credential or the first stretch of a master's. Institution-wide, UVA reports a 96% graduation rate, a whole-university figure rather than a promise attached to this certificate.

Fully online option
  • 15 credit hours, completed part time across one to five semesters
  • Three start dates per year: spring, summer, and fall
  • 45-hour practicum embedded in the methods courses
  • One year of successful full-time teaching can substitute for the practicum
  • Add-on endorsement for K-6, 6-8, or 6-12 general curriculum in Virginia
  • Covers autism, dyslexia, traumatic brain injury, and emotional disabilities
  • Credits count toward UVA's M.Ed. in Special Education
  • 3.0 GPA minimum with two letters of recommendation

University of Maryland-College Park

#2

College Park, MD · $18,000/yr

Best for: General educators managing classroom behavior challenges

The University of Maryland's College of Education offers a 15-credit online certificate built specifically for general education teachers who want inclusive classrooms to work for every learner. Five asynchronous courses, taken one at a time over about 15 months, cover positive behavior interventions, assessment, and elementary special education curriculum, and the credits count as half of the university's M.Ed. in Special Education. The university's 89% institution-wide graduation rate describes the broader campus rather than this certificate, but it speaks to the support systems available to students carrying a full teaching load.

Rolling admissionsFully online option
  • 15 credit hours delivered fully online and asynchronously
  • Five courses taken one at a time over roughly 15 months
  • $875 per credit with rolling admissions and entry in any semester
  • Counts as half of the credits for UMD's M.Ed. in Special Education
  • Coursework in positive behavior interventions and function-based behavior assessment
  • Covers inclusive practices, assessment, and elementary special education curriculum
  • Built for working educators; part-time enrollment available
  • Designed to help general educators meet IDEA requirements in inclusive rooms

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

#3

Champaign, IL · $19,000/yr

Best for: Early intervention providers serving infants and toddlers

The University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign houses its early intervention certificate inside a special education department with deep ties to Illinois' statewide early intervention system. The five-course sequence prepares providers to work with infants and toddlers who have disabilities or developmental delays, and completing it satisfies the state's Provider Connections core knowledge requirements, which makes it unusually practical for developmental therapists and early intervention specialists already in the field. Classes run synchronously online, and most students finish in three semesters while continuing to work.

Fully online option
  • Five courses over three semesters, delivered synchronously online
  • Focus on early intervention for infants and toddlers and their families
  • Covers birth-to-three child development and assessment in early childhood special education
  • Meets Illinois Provider Connections Core Knowledge requirements
  • Approved for Illinois continuing credit for early intervention providers
  • Emphasizes family-centered practice and cross-disciplinary teaming
  • Open to graduate, undergraduate, and non-degree students

University of Georgia

#4

Athens, GA · $11,000/yr

The University of Georgia's dyslexia certificate is the only program in the state accredited by the International Dyslexia Association, and its coursework follows the association's standards for teachers of reading. The 15-credit sequence covers reading and language development, why dyslexia occurs, and how to assess and remediate reading disabilities, with a summer practicum that has students coaching struggling readers one-to-one and in small groups. Georgia educators can add the state dyslexia endorsement after finishing, and the university's 90% institution-wide graduation rate reflects a campus with strong overall completion support.

Military benefitsEmployer tuition reimbursementFully online option
  • 15 credit hours, typically finished in three to five semesters
  • Accredited by the International Dyslexia Association
  • Summer practicum with one-to-one and small-group reading instruction
  • Eligible for the Georgia Dyslexia Endorsement
  • Covers reading and language development, assessment, and remediation
  • Total program tuition of $6,465 with $431 per semester in online fees
  • Open to degree and non-degree students; military benefits accepted
  • Prepares reading interventionists, special education teachers, and literacy coaches

Florida State University

#5

Tallahassee, FL · $11,000/yr

Florida State University's College of Education, Health and Human Sciences delivers a 12-credit early childhood special education certificate built around developmental delays and disabilities in young children. Certified teachers who complete it can add Florida's Pre-Kindergarten Disabilities Endorsement, and state tuition support tied to that endorsement is often available to teachers working in public Pre-K settings. The program is fully online and fits behavior therapists, speech-language pathologists, and childcare providers as well as special educators.

Fully online option
  • 12 credit hours, fully online
  • Leads to Florida's Pre-Kindergarten Disabilities Endorsement for certified teachers
  • Covers typical and atypical child development from birth to age three
  • Practice assessing children's needs and partnering with families
  • Suited to early childhood teachers, behavior therapists, and speech-language pathologists
  • Completed while working; no campus visits required

North Carolina State University at Raleigh

#6

Raleigh, NC · $12,000 – $33,000/yr

North Carolina State University's certificate in special education with a multi-tiered system of supports focus is aimed squarely at the tiered intervention model that North Carolina districts are required to run. Four online courses cover exceptional children, applied behavior analysis, positive behavior intervention, and interventions for students with behavior support needs, and the credential doubles as a pathway into the university's M.Ed., MAT, or special education licensure. No entrance exam is required, and every course must be taken at NC State.

No entrance examFully online option
  • 12 credit hours across four courses, fully online
  • No entrance exam required
  • Coursework in applied behavior analysis and positive behavior intervention
  • Elective in interventions for students with behavior support needs
  • Pathway to an M.Ed., an MAT, or special education licensure
  • Prepares teachers and administrators to implement MTSS policy and practice
  • All courses completed at NC State; no transfer credits accepted

University of Central Florida

#7

Orlando, FL · $9,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

The University of Central Florida's special education graduate certificate is a 12-credit credential built for out-of-field teachers who need the coursework Florida requires for special education certification. It covers assessment and curriculum planning, behavior management, and instructional strategies for students with disabilities from Pre-K through the secondary grades, and students who complete it entirely online pay reduced campus-based fees. UCF also offers related online graduate certificates in applied behavior analysis and autism spectrum disorders for educators who want to specialize further.

  • 12 credit hours of graduate coursework, fully online
  • Built for out-of-field teachers seeking Florida special education certification
  • Covers behavior management, assessment, and curriculum planning
  • Instructional strategies for students with disabilities, Pre-K through secondary
  • Reduced campus-based fees for students enrolled through UCF Online
  • Meets state certification coursework requirements
  • Housed in the College of Community Innovation and Education

University of South Florida

#8

Tampa, FL · $10,000/yr

The University of South Florida's exceptional student education certificate sits in a college that works closely with Tampa Bay school districts on special education practice and leadership. The four-course, 12-credit program covers advanced psychoeducational assessment, instructional approaches, and a dedicated course on managing and motivating exceptional and at-risk students, with an emphasis on collaboration with families and other professionals. Students can spread the certificate across as many as five years while working full time.

Fully online option
  • Four courses, 12 credit hours, completable within five years
  • Required course in management and motivation of exceptional and at-risk students
  • Covers advanced psychoeducational assessment and instructional approaches
  • Emphasis on collaboration with families and professionals
  • Creating effective learning environments for exceptional students
  • Prerequisite coursework required for admission
  • $37 flat fee per semester plus a $30 distance learning fee per course hour

University of Connecticut

#9

Storrs, CT · ~$23,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

The University of Connecticut's transition to adulthood certificate takes a different angle from most behavior-focused credentials: it prepares educators for the shift from K-12 special education into employment, independent living, and community involvement. The online coursework names autism, ADHD, and learning disabilities directly, and a capstone lets students design a project around their own students and setting. Courses are asynchronous and not tied to one state's licensure rules, so they suit teachers, school psychologists, social workers, and transition coordinators working across states.

  • Fully online and asynchronous; not tied to one state's licensure
  • Focus on the move from K-12 into employment, independent living, and community life
  • Supports students with autism, ADHD, and learning disabilities
  • Capstone project designed around the student's own interests and setting
  • Suited to special education teachers, school psychologists, and transition coordinators
  • Individual courses available to non-degree students at $925 per credit

George Mason University

#10

Fairfax, VA · $15,000 – $20,000/yr

George Mason University offers two fully online certificates that speak directly to learning and behavior disorders: an 18-credit autism spectrum disorders certificate with coursework in behavior and sensory support across the lifespan, and a 21-credit applied behavior analysis sequence built to Behavior Analyst Certification Board guidelines. The autism certificate requires no field experience and runs asynchronously in about a year, while the ABA sequence holds verified course sequence status through the end of 2026. Both credentials can be folded into the university's special education master's, and the 68% institution-wide graduation rate reflects the campus as a whole.

No entrance examTest optionalFully online option
  • 18 credit hours across six courses, completed in about one year
  • 100% online and asynchronous, built for working professionals
  • Coursework in behavior and sensory support for individuals with autism
  • Lifespan focus, from childhood through adulthood and aging
  • No field experience required; video case studies and applied activities
  • Covers characteristics, intervention strategies, communication, and assessment
  • Can be combined with GMU's M.Ed. in Special Education for two credentials
  • 21 credit hours following Behavior Analyst Certification Board guidelines
  • Verified Course Sequence status through the end of 2026
  • No field experience required within the program; simulations and application activities
  • Covers behavior assessment, intervention, verbal behavior, and professional ethics
  • Fieldwork for BCBA eligibility must be arranged separately
  • Prepares students to design intensive behavior programs in schools and agencies

Degree and Certificate Options: From Graduate Certificates to Doctorates

Your existing credentials determine which learning and behavior disorders pathway saves you time and money, not the other way around.

Bachelor's and Entry-Level Routes

A bachelor's degree in special education with an LBD or emotional/behavioral disorders (EBD) concentration remains the standard entry point for new teachers. These four-year programs pair coursework with supervised student teaching and lead directly to initial licensure, making them the right choice for undergraduates who have not yet entered the classroom.

Graduate Certificates: The Fast Lane for Licensed Teachers

If you already hold a teaching license, a graduate certificate is usually the smartest move. These programs typically run 12 to 18 credit hours, focus narrowly on LBD or EBD instructional strategies, and can often be completed in two to three semesters. Most standalone certificates supplement an existing license by adding an endorsement rather than replacing it, so applicants without a base credential should look elsewhere.

Master's Degrees: M.Ed. vs. MAT

A full master's, whether an M.Ed. or a Master of Arts in Teaching, makes sense in two scenarios: career-changers who need initial licensure alongside specialized training, and licensed teachers who want both the endorsement and a salary-boosting graduate degree. M.Ed. programs generally assume classroom experience, while MAT tracks build in licensure preparation for newcomers.

Doctoral Study

Ed.D. and Ph.D. programs in special education or applied behavior analysis serve a smaller audience: aspiring researchers, university faculty, and district-level administrators shaping behavioral intervention policy. These are long-term investments, not quick specialization tools, and rarely fit working teachers seeking a near-term endorsement.

Tuition & Program Cost Comparison

The table below compares estimated tuition and average net price for five of the most affordable fully online graduate certificates in special education and learning/behavior disorders. Net price figures reflect an institution-wide average reported to the U.S. Department of Education (IPEDS, 2024) and are not an exact per-student quote. Your actual cost will vary based on residency status, financial aid, and employer tuition benefits.

SchoolLocationIn-State TuitionOut-of-State TuitionAvg. Net Price (Institution-Wide)Credit Hours
CUNY Queens CollegeQueens, NY$11,612$21,042$4,19512
University of South FloridaTampa, FL$10,428$21,126$9,81212
University of North FloridaJacksonville, FL$10,364$21,930$10,154Varies
University of Central FloridaOrlando, FL$8,872$28,657$10,41112
Florida State UniversityTallahassee, FL$10,553$26,707$11,29712

Admission Requirements and Prerequisites for LBD Programs

Requirements vary by institution and whether the program targets already-licensed teachers or career changers, so review each school's checklist carefully. Here are the items you will encounter most often.

  • Accredited bachelor's degree
    Every program requires a bachelor's from an accredited institution. Some advanced endorsement tracks specifically require an undergraduate degree in special education or a related field, while initial-licensure pathways accept any bachelor's discipline.
  • Minimum GPA
    Most programs set a cumulative GPA threshold between 2.5 and 3.0. Thresholds at the lower end (2.5–2.75) are more common for initial-licensure programs, whereas endorsement or research-focused tracks may require a 3.0 or higher. Some schools allow applicants who fall slightly short to gain conditional admission through an advisor consultation or a passing basic-skills test score.
  • Standardized exam scores
    Praxis CORE or a state-specific basic-skills test is frequently required at or near admission. Praxis II specialty exams, such as the Special Education: Core Knowledge exam, are more often tied to student-teaching eligibility or licensure completion rather than initial admission. A few programs still accept GRE or MAT scores in lieu of Praxis.
  • Teaching license or relevant experience
    Cross-endorsement and advanced programs typically require a valid teaching certificate. Initial-licensure and alternative-route programs are designed for candidates without a license, though some expect related classroom or paraeducator experience, sometimes at least one year.
  • Letters of recommendation
    Two to three professional or academic references are standard. Programs generally prefer at least one letter from a supervisor who can speak to your work with students or in an educational setting.
  • Background check and clearances
    Because LBD programs include fieldwork in K–12 schools, expect state and federal criminal background checks, child-abuse clearances, and sometimes fingerprinting before you begin any clinical placement.

Questions to Ask Yourself

  1. Do you already hold a teaching license, or do you need a pathway that builds toward one?

    Your starting point changes the program search. If you already hold a license, a focused endorsement or certification may be faster; if not, prioritize a program that includes full teacher preparation and supervised student teaching.

  2. Are you drawn to behavior-analytic work (ABA/BCBA-track) or classroom-based LBD/EBD instruction?

    These tracks lead to different coursework, clinical placements, and board or endorsement exams. Clarify this before enrolling because switching later can add semesters of classes and supervised hours.

  3. Will your state recognize an online program's endorsement for licensure reciprocity if you plan to relocate?

    Online programs are convenient, but state rules vary widely for out-of-state field placements and endorsement reciprocity. Verify with your state education agency before committing, especially if you may move within a few years.

  4. Can you realistically fit in-person practicum hours around your schedule even in a fully online program?

    Even fully online programs require in-person practicum or internship hours in a school or clinic. Block out where and when you can complete those hours, because weekend and evening placements are not always available.

Career Paths, Salary Outlook & Return on Investment

Completing a learning and behavior disorders program can open doors to several rewarding careers in special education and behavioral services. The table below presents verified national wage and outlook data where available. Note that Bureau of Labor Statistics figures for behavior analysts are not published under a standalone occupational category, so the salary range shown reflects commonly reported industry figures rather than an official federal benchmark.

Career PathTypical Entry-Level EducationNational Median Annual WageProjected Annual Openings (2025 to 2035)Job Growth Outlook
Special Education Teacher (All Specializations)Bachelor's degree (master's preferred or required in many states)Approximately $67,170About 37,100Little or no change projected
Board Certified Behavior Analyst (BCBA)Master's degree in applied behavior analysis or related fieldCommonly reported in the mid-$70,000s to low $80,000s (industry estimates)Not separately reported by BLSNot separately reported by BLS

How Program Cost Stacks up Against Graduate Earnings

Program-level earnings data for these special education graduate certificates is not yet published by the U.S. Department of Education. Without verified post-completion earnings figures, a side-by-side cost-versus-earnings comparison would require substituting institution-wide numbers, which would misrepresent the actual return on investment for learning and behavior disorders credentials. We will update this section as program-specific outcomes become available.

How Program Cost Stacks Up Against Graduate Earnings
When the median special education teacher earns over 65,000 dollars a year, even a program costing 20,000 to 30,000 dollars in total tuition can pay for itself within the first year of the salary increase that a master's degree unlocks.
mastersincommunications.org analysis of Bureau of Labor Statistics and program cost data

More Learning and Behavior Disorders Programs to Explore

The directory below continues past the ranked programs with additional graduate certificates in special education, autism, and emotional disability. Each entry lists the school, its location, the delivery format, and the credential offered, so you can scan several options quickly. Per-credit rates vary widely and change often, so confirm current tuition directly with each program before you apply.

The College of New Jersey
This 22-credit certificate, typically finished in about a year part time at $714 per credit, covers differentiated instruction, positive behavioral supports, assistive technology, and literacy, with a supervised practicum. Evening synchronous Zoom sessions let working teachers keep teaching.
University of Delaware
The autism and severe disabilities option at $908 per credit covers specialized instructional and curricular practices, behavior support, and Council for Exceptional Children standards. Its 15 credits of master's-level work can later count toward the M.Ed. in Teaching Students with Disabilities.
CUNY Queens College
This 12-credit advanced certificate runs two semesters and is fully online aside from practicum field hours. Coursework spans critical disability studies, assessment, inclusive curriculum and instruction, and applied behavior analysis, and credits can transfer into the college's MSEd with approval.
University of Alabama in Huntsville
Coursework covers autism spectrum disorder characteristics, assessment and intervention planning, applied behavior analysis, and assistive technology, plus a summer clinic working directly with children on the spectrum. Fifteen credits online and hybrid, no entrance exam required.
University of North Florida
This 9-credit online certificate pairs two required courses on special education law, disability categories, and behavior management with electives in math, literacy, or Universal Design for Learning. It can be completed on its own or alongside a graduate degree.
Arizona State University
Five classes of roughly 7.5 weeks each cover autism spectrum disorder characteristics and evidence-based support strategies, followed by a 45-hour practicum. The 15-credit online certificate is built to fit around a full-time job.
Towson University
A fully online certificate for current general education teachers and aspiring school administrators, focused on inclusive teaching strategies and special education foundations. It can stand alone or serve as a stepping stone to Towson's M.Ed. in Special Education.
University of Houston
This graduate-level specialist certificate from the College of Education is built for working professionals who want advanced training and graduate credits in special education. Some UH professional certificates are offered online, while others meet in the evenings and on weekends.
University of Missouri
Twelve credits across four electives you can take in any order, with topics including gifted education, autism, early childhood special education, behavior management, literacy, math methods, and assessment. Delivered fully online, so you can keep working while you study.
Touro University
This 15-credit certificate at $710 per credit blends evening, Sunday, and online classes with student teaching completed in New York State, preparing educators to serve bilingual students who need special education and speech-language support.
Appalachian State University
Housed in the Department of Child Development, Literacy and Special Education, this certificate is delivered entirely online with no campus visits required, letting educators, paraprofessionals, and related service providers study from anywhere while continuing to work.
University of Kansas
Four eight-week courses, mostly asynchronous, cover special education policy and law, systems change, research, and inclusive leadership, including least restrictive environment and procedural due process. The certificate does not lead to teacher licensure.
Washington State University
Offered through the Department of Teaching and Learning, this online certificate adds focused graduate coursework on helping students with disabilities move from K-12 into adult roles, work, and independence. It can stand alone or pair with a full degree.
University of Mississippi
Twelve fully online credits in behavior management, applied behavior analysis, positive behavior supports, and the psychology of students with behavior problems. The credits can roll into a master's or education specialist degree, and a practicum is included.
University of North Carolina Wilmington
A 21-credit online post-baccalaureate certificate with General Curriculum and Adapted Curriculum tracks, covering assessment, literacy and math instruction, positive behavior support, and transition planning. Field experiences can be completed in your own classroom.

Recent News

Recent Articles

In this article

Follow us