What you’ll learn in this article…
- Arkansas lacks an in-state online PR master's, so SARA-approved national programs fill the gap.
- Northwest Arkansas PR salaries approach national medians thanks to major corporate headquarters nearby.
- Most online programs require 30 to 36 credits and accept applicants without a communication background.
No Arkansas university offers a master's in public relations. For residents, the path to a graduate credential runs through accredited online programs that serve students nationwide. These programs have become the default choice for professionals in Little Rock, Fayetteville, and across the state seeking director-level roles and pr career advancement in agencies, corporate communications, or healthcare PR.
The decision, then, is which program best aligns with the Arkansas market: one that balances cost, convenience, and the specific demands of employers like major retailers, hospital networks, and manufacturers who are expanding in-house communications teams. As agency growth in Northwest Arkansas outpaces the region, the degree you choose is less about general prestige and more about how well it prepares you for the realities of PR work in the state.
Why Arkansas Students Are Choosing Online PR Master's Programs
Arkansas is home to some of the country's most recognizable corporate brands, a growing healthcare sector, and a network of agencies that keep communications professionals in steady demand. Yet when it comes to earning a graduate degree specifically in public relations, students in the Natural State face a notable gap: no Arkansas university currently offers a standalone master's in public relations. Programs at institutions like the University of Arkansas or UA Little Rock may include strategic communication or journalism tracks within a master's in communication programs in Arkansas, but these do not fully replicate the focused PR curriculum, including crisis communication, media relations strategy, and reputation management, that a dedicated program provides.
That mismatch between employer demand and local academic offerings is exactly why so many Arkansas professionals are turning to online PR master's programs housed at nationally ranked universities in other states.
A Strong Local Job Market for PR Talent
Arkansas punches above its weight in corporate communications. Walmart's global headquarters in Bentonville and Tyson Foods in Springdale maintain large in-house PR and corporate affairs teams. Dillard's in Little Rock, J.B. Hunt Transport Services in Lowell, and a growing cluster of consumer brands in Northwest Arkansas all recruit communications specialists.1
Beyond the corporate sector, major healthcare systems such as Arkansas Children's Hospital, Baptist Health, Northwest Health System,4 and Jefferson Regional Medical Center5 rely on PR professionals to manage community relations and public health messaging.
State agencies, including the Arkansas Department of Health, employ communications staff as well,3 and Little Rock is home to established firms like CJRW, Mitchell, and The Communications Group. Bentonville's 4media Group rounds out a regional agency scene that Clutch directories list at more than a dozen firms statewide. LinkedIn job postings consistently show recurring PR openings at employers ranging from Garver and Summit Utilities to Procter and Gamble operations in the region.3 Overall, demand for PR specialists and managers in the state has followed a steady, modest growth trend through the mid-2020s, signaling reliable career viability for qualified graduates.3
Online Programs Fill the Gap
For working professionals across Arkansas, online master's programs offer a practical solution. Rather than relocating to another state or pausing a career, students can enroll in a specialized PR curriculum from an accredited university and complete coursework on their own schedule. Many programs are designed with working adults in mind, featuring asynchronous classes, weekend residencies, or evening sessions that accommodate full-time jobs.
This flexibility is particularly valuable in Arkansas, where PR roles are spread across the state, from the Northwest Arkansas corridor to the Little Rock metro area and beyond. Whether you are managing communications for a hospital in Pine Bluff or supporting a corporate team in Bentonville, an online format lets you apply what you learn in class to real projects at work the very next day. The sections that follow profile the strongest online options available to Arkansas students right now.
Best Online Master's in Public Relations for Arkansas Students
Every program here accepts Arkansas residents, and most can be completed fully online without a campus visit; a few blend online coursework with limited in-person sessions. Our directory does not yet include a verified Arkansas-based public relations master's, so this roster covers out-of-state programs that enroll Arkansas students, and the program search on this page can surface additional options closer to home.
How we ranked these
- On-time completion rates
- Earnings ten years after entry
- Online delivery for Arkansas residents
- Public relations program focus
- Affordability and total tuition
- Original research on individual programs
- Federal institutional data (NCES-IPEDS) covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
- College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
Georgetown University
#1Washington, DC · $60,000 – $65,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Working professionals eyeing corporate communications leadership
Georgetown delivers its public relations and corporate communications master's through the School of Continuing Studies, a unit built around working adults. The 30-credit degree carries a total program tuition of $52,560 and can be taken online, on campus, or in a hybrid mix, with part-time students typically finishing in two to five years. Federal program-level earnings data for these graduates shows medians near $91,000 one year after completion and about $115,000 four years out, and the university reports a graduation rate close to 95%.
- 30 credits; $52,560 total program tuition
- Available fully online, on campus, or hybrid
- Full-time or part-time; 2 to 5 years to complete
- Fall, spring, and summer entry points
- Coursework in writing, planning, research, and ethics
- Client projects and case studies, with AI tools included
University of Southern California
#2Los Angeles, CA · ~$72,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Career changers wanting an accelerated online degree
USC Annenberg's online master's in public relations innovation, strategy and management is built for working professionals who want a faster route through the degree, with a roughly one-year track and a two-year alternative. Coursework leans on ethics, data-driven decision making, business fundamentals, and multiplatform storytelling, taught by Annenberg faculty with networking events alongside the classes. Reported median earnings for these graduates run near $51,000 one year out and roughly $90,000 four years after completion.
- Fully online; 12-month track or two-year option
- Focus on ethics and data-driven decision-making
- Business fundamentals including finance and economics
- Taught by USC Annenberg faculty
- Networking events with industry leaders
- Multiplatform content creation and influencer relations
Florida State University
#3Tallahassee, FL · ~$11,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Cost-conscious students at a public research university
Florida State's online professional communication master's adds a strategic communication concentration that pulls advertising, public relations, digital media, and cross-cultural outreach into one 33-credit program. Because FSU is a public university, published in-state tuition and fees run about $5,656 a year against roughly $18,786 for out-of-state students, a gap worth weighing even though the online program is priced separately. Graduates have reported median earnings near $52,000 one year after finishing and about $78,000 four years out, and the university reports a graduation rate near 86%.
- 33 credit hours, fully online
- Blends advertising, PR, and marketing communication
- Individualized plan of study built around your goals
- Prepares students for digital and multicultural marketing roles
- SACSCOC accredited
- Strong foundation for doctoral study
University of Delaware
#4Newark, DE · $20,000 – $25,000/yr (est.)
Delaware's 30-credit MA in strategic communication carries a public relations specialization and runs about 18 months, entirely asynchronously for working professionals. At $1,153 per credit, coursework covers crisis communication, reputation management, branding, and AP-style writing, capped by a service-learning project where you build a full campaign plan for a real organization. Program-level earnings data has not been published for these graduates, and the university reports a graduation rate of about 81%.
- 30 credits; about 18 months to finish
- $1,153 per credit
- 100% asynchronous online delivery
- Crisis communication, reputation management, and branding
- AP style writing for press releases and announcements
- Service-learning campaign for a real organization
Marist College
#5Poughkeepsie, NY · ~$17,000/yr (est.)
Marist's online master's in marketing communication places a public relations concentration inside a broader marketing curriculum with six core courses and four electives. The program is fully online with full-time and part-time pacing, and other concentration choices include digital marketing, health communication, and strategic leadership, with related certificates available. Federal earnings data for these graduates shows medians around $71,000 one year after completion and about $90,000 four years out, against a university graduation rate near 80%.
- Fully online, full-time or part-time
- Six core courses and four electives
- Concentrations in digital marketing and health communication
- Certificates available in concentration areas
- Case-study approach to social media analytics and branding
- Two-year part-time option
Washington State University
#6Pullman, WA · ~$15,000/yr (est.)
Washington State's online MA in strategic communication is a 30-credit degree built around multimedia content creation, crisis communication, ethics, and research methods, ending in a capstone that produces portfolio-quality work. Admission asks for a 3.0 GPA but no GRE, and the program starts in spring, summer, and fall with a cohort structure and weekly online office hours. In-state tuition and fees are published at about $13,391 a year against roughly $29,950 for out-of-state students, and program-level earnings are not reported for these graduates.
- 30 semester credits, fully online
- No GRE required; 3.0 GPA minimum
- Spring, summer, and fall start terms
- Multimedia content creation and crisis communication
- Capstone project required
- Cohort structure with weekly online office hours
Drexel University
#7Philadelphia, PA · ~$39,000/yr (est.)
Drexel's master's in strategic and digital communication offers a strategic communication concentration covering public relations, organizational communication, communication theory, ethics, and media policy. The program runs on four start terms a year in both fully online and fully on-campus formats, GRE scores are optional, and no thesis or capstone is required. Reported median earnings for graduates sit near $46,000 one year out and about $71,000 four years after completion.
- Concentration covers PR and organizational communication
- GRE optional with holistic application review
- Fully online or fully on-campus formats
- Four start terms per year
- No thesis or capstone required
- Coursework in communication theory, ethics, and media policy
- Graduate co-op available to on-campus students
Colorado State University-Fort Collins
#8Fort Collins, CO · ~$14,000/yr (est.)
Colorado State's online master of communications and media management lets students choose a public relations concentration among ten options, with electives in advertising, web design, and media production. The 30-credit degree costs $789 per credit, runs asynchronously, and can be completed in as little as 14 months with three start dates a year and no entrance exam. Program-level earnings are not yet published for these graduates, and the university reports a graduation rate near 67%.
- 30 credits at $789 per credit
- Asynchronous online classes
- Complete in as little as 14 months
- Three start dates per year
- No entrance exam; 3.0 GPA minimum
- Ten concentration options, including public relations
- Electives in advertising, web design, and media production
DePaul University
#9Chicago, IL · ~$23,000/yr (est.)
DePaul's master's in public relations and advertising is a Chicago program aimed at students who want integrated marketing communication skills across digital, social, and traditional media. Most classes meet on weekday evenings at the Loop campus with some online coursework, and portfolio projects and internships are built around Chicago employers, which is worth planning for if you live in Arkansas. Graduates have reported median earnings of about $58,000 one year after finishing and roughly $84,000 four years out, and the university reports a graduation rate near 68%.
- Hybrid format with weekday evening classes
- Loop Campus location in Chicago
- Some courses offered online
- Two-year completion time
- Portfolio projects with real clients
- Internship opportunities across Chicago
- Scholarships and graduate assistantships available
Lipscomb University
#10Nashville, TN · ~$17,000/yr (est.)
Lipscomb's 36-hour MA in public relations is a hybrid program that mixes online coursework with on-campus meetings in Nashville, which means travel from Arkansas is part of the plan. It can be completed in about a year, requires no GRE, and offers an optional thesis track plus a 15-hour certificate option. Coursework covers campaign management, communication theory, and social media, though program-level earnings are not reported for these graduates.
- 36-hour program; hybrid delivery
- One-year completion time
- No GRE required
- Optional thesis track
- 15-hour certificate option
- Coursework in campaign management and communication theory
Tuition and Cost Comparison for Online PR Master's Programs
Online PR master's programs span a wide cost range, and Arkansas students benefit from the fact that many charge a flat per-credit or flat-program rate regardless of where you live. Arkansas participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA), which means residents can enroll in SARA-approved online programs nationwide, though SARA itself does not guarantee reduced tuition. Arkansas residents may also qualify for regional tuition agreements through the Academic Common Market or similar Southern Regional Education Board programs, so it is worth checking with each school's admissions office. The table below compares published tuition figures for top online programs. Note that institution-wide average net price is included where available as a general reference point; it reflects all students at the university (not just graduate PR students) and should be treated as a rough benchmark rather than a program-specific estimate.
| School | State | Program | Estimated Total Program Cost | Annual In-State Tuition | Annual Out-of-State Tuition | Flat Rate for Online Students | Institution-Wide Avg. Net Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eastern New Mexico University | NM | M.A. in Communication (PR Concentration), 30 credits | Approx. $9,315 (at $310.50/credit) | $5,706 | $7,480 | Per-credit rate ($310.50) | $4,904 |
| Texas Tech University | TX | M.A. in Strategic Communication | $10,530 | $5,265 | $5,265 | Yes | Not available |
| Arkansas State University | AR | M.S. in Strategic Communication | Approx. $18,000 (two years at $9,000/yr) | $9,000 | $9,000 | Yes | Not available |
| Northwest Missouri State University | MO | M.A. in Strategic Communication, 30 credits | $12,210 | Not available | Not available | Yes ($407/credit) | Not available |
| Middle Georgia State University | GA | M.A. in Public Relations | $4,534 (in-state) to $13,984 (out-of-state) | $4,534 | $13,984 | Not confirmed | $12,361 |
| Northeastern State University | OK | M.A. in Public Relations, 30 credits | $5,771 (in-state) to $11,981 (out-of-state) | $5,771 | $11,981 | Not confirmed | $12,710 |
| Wayne State College | NE | M.S. in Organizational Management (PR Focus), 36 credits | Approx. $14,832 (at $412/credit) | $5,784 | $10,194 | Per-credit rate ($412) | $15,360 |
| Columbus State University | GA | M.A. in Communication (Strategic Comm. Mgmt.), 30 credits | $8,268 (in-state) to $10,140 (out-of-state) | $8,268 | $10,140 | Not confirmed | $13,115 |
| SUNY Buffalo State University | NY | M.S. in Public Relations, 33 credits | $12,208 (in-state) to $24,688 (out-of-state) | $12,208 | $24,688 | Not confirmed | $11,346 |
| Washington State University | WA | M.A. in Strategic Communication, 30 credits | $14,845 (in-state) to $30,467 (out-of-state) | $14,845 | $30,467 | Not confirmed | $14,971 |
PR Master's Curriculum: What Arkansas Students Should Expect
A public relations master's curriculum moves you beyond entry-level tactics into strategic planning. Whether you aim for a corporate communications role at a major Arkansas employer or lead campaigns for an agency in Little Rock, these programs blend research, writing, and digital strategy with real-world projects, equipping you with analytical frameworks and practical skills to manage reputation, navigate crises, or launch integrated media campaigns.
Core Courses That Build Foundational Skills
Most online PR master's programs share core courses: research methods, PR writing, media relations, and campaign planning. Crisis communication teaches response preparation; corporate communication and ethics cover internal and external messaging, stakeholder engagement, transparency, and legal considerations. Developing digital communication skills is now a central pillar, with many programs requiring coursework in digital and social media strategy for audience targeting, content creation, and analytics.
Specialization Tracks for Arkansas Career Paths
Beyond the core, electives or concentrations let you tailor your degree. Corporate communication tracks fit in-house roles at giants like Walmart, whose Bentonville headquarters demand sophisticated internal and executive communications. For healthcare, health communication electives address the state's growing hospital and public health networks. Agency professionals often lean into digital and social media specializations, which align with social media careers for communication majors, as well as reputation and crisis management. Examples include USC's Market Research and Analytics concentration, Hofstra's Reputation and Crisis Management, and Johns Hopkins and Northeastern's Public and Media Relations tracks.
Credit Requirements and Culminating Projects
The typical master's in PR requires 30-36 credits. For example, Georgetown's MPS in Public Relations and Corporate Communications and Washington State University's MA in Strategic Communication need 30 credits, while the University of Florida's online MA in Mass Communication (public relations focus) requires 36 credits, including a 3-credit capstone.3 The capstone project is the standard culminating experience: you develop a full-scale campaign, conduct original research, or solve a client's communication challenge. A few programs, like Eastern New Mexico University's MA in Communication, offer a thesis option. This project work is where master's in communication programs in Arkansas connect directly to your next career move, allowing you to showcase strategic planning, writing, and digital execution skills that Arkansas employers actively seek.
Related Articles
Career Outcomes and Salary Expectations for PR Graduates in Arkansas
Deciding whether a graduate degree will pay for itself requires looking beyond tuition stickers and toward what you can actually earn once you finish. For Arkansas residents considering an online master's in public relations, the calculus involves weighing program costs against a regional labor market that, while paying less than coastal hubs, boasts lower living expenses and proximity to major corporate headquarters.
What PR Professionals Earn in Arkansas
Public relations specialists in Arkansas earn a median annual wage of roughly $43,7002, which sits well below the national median of $66,7501 for the same occupation. However, geography matters within the state. Specialists in the Little Rock metro area see median earnings closer to $49,8702. In the Fayetteville-Springdale-Rogers corridor, home to Walmart's headquarters and a growing corporate ecosystem, the median reaches $63,2002, nearly matching the national figure.
The earnings ceiling rises substantially for those who move into management. PR managers in Arkansas earn a median of $87,830, with top earners at the 90th percentile reaching $150,5702. Nationally, PR managers average over $164,0003, so Arkansas still trails, but the gap narrows considerably at senior levels.
Does the Investment Make Sense?
Program-level earnings data for the specific online master's degrees in our ranking are not yet published by federal sources, so calculating an exact return on investment requires some estimation. What we do know is that total tuition for the programs highlighted here ranges from about $15,000 at more affordable options like Washington State University to roughly $52,000 at Georgetown University. Most graduates of accredited PR master's programs report median debt somewhere between $15,000 and $25,000.
If you compare that debt load against the $87,830 median salary for Arkansas PR managers, the degree can pay for itself within two to three years of reaching a management role, assuming you avoid excessive borrowing. For specialists staying in individual contributor roles, the payback period stretches longer, particularly at the lower end of the Arkansas wage scale.
Arkansas-Specific Career Paths
The state's corporate landscape offers unique opportunities that reward advanced credentials:
- Corporate communications at Fortune 500 headquarters: Walmart in Bentonville, Tyson Foods in Springdale, and Murphy Oil in El Dorado all maintain sizable communications teams. These roles often require the strategic planning and crisis management skills covered in graduate curricula.
- Healthcare communications: Major hospital systems across Little Rock and Northwest Arkansas hire PR professionals to manage patient relations, community outreach, and media engagement.
- Agency work: Little Rock hosts several regional agencies serving clients across the South, while Northwest Arkansas has seen agency growth tied to supplier and vendor communications for retail giants.
- Government and nonprofit communications: State agencies, university systems, and nonprofits across Arkansas value candidates who can demonstrate research skills and campaign planning experience.
Is a Master's Worth It for Career Advancement?
The data suggests yes, with caveats. A graduate degree alone will not guarantee a management title or a six-figure salary, but it does open doors that remain closed to candidates with only a bachelor's degree in communications. Employers increasingly seek professionals who can navigate digital analytics, crisis response, and integrated campaigns, all areas where a well-designed master's curriculum builds demonstrable expertise. For Arkansas residents eyeing roles at major corporate headquarters or seeking to differentiate themselves in a competitive regional market, the degree represents a calculated bet on long-term earning potential.
PR Salaries: Arkansas vs. National Median
Salary data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics reveals a meaningful gap between Arkansas and national median wages for public relations roles. However, these statewide figures can be misleading. The Northwest Arkansas metro area, home to major corporate headquarters like Walmart, Tyson Foods, and J.B. Hunt, typically offers compensation well above the state median, making the region competitive with many larger markets.

Accreditation, Financial Aid, and Paying for Your PR Master's
Accreditation is the official stamp confirming that a communication or journalism program meets national standards for curriculum, faculty, and student outcomes. For PR master's degrees, the gold standard is the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC), which applies eight rigorous standards.1 Before applying anywhere, verify a program's status directly on the ACEJMC accredited programs list rather than trusting a school's marketing page. If a program isn't listed, email the department and ask why, since some strong programs simply hold institutional accreditation instead of the program-specific ACEJMC review.
A handful of well-known schools illustrate the range you'll encounter. Arizona State's Cronkite School, the University of Alabama, the University of Georgia's Grady College, and St. Bonaventure's Jandoli School all carry ACEJMC accreditation, with St. Bonaventure notably one of just three ACEJMC-accredited schools offering the credential fully online.2 Syracuse's Newhouse School was reaccredited in 2023.3 By contrast, American University's on-campus strategic communication degree is ACEJMC-accredited while its online version currently is not, and the University of Florida's online mass communication master's also falls outside ACEJMC's list, a reminder that the same university brand can have different accreditation outcomes depending on delivery format.4
Financial Aid Worth Digging For
Every program's website should have a graduate or online-student financial aid section. Look specifically for:
- Scholarships: department-level and university-wide awards for graduate communication students
- Assistantships: tuition waivers or stipends in exchange for research or teaching support
- Employer tuition reimbursement: Arkansas employers like Walmart (through Live Better U) and Tyson Foods offer tuition assistance that can substantially offset costs for working professionals
Federal Aid and Outside Scholarships
Completing the FAFSA opens the door to Direct Unsubsidized Loans, which most online master's students qualify for as long as their program carries accreditation recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation. Call the financial aid office directly to confirm eligibility details before enrolling. Beyond federal aid, PRSA (prsa.org) maintains scholarship and grant listings worth checking each admissions cycle, and the Bureau of Labor Statistics' Occupational Outlook Handbook (bls.gov) offers useful context on typical education and training expectations for PR careers.
Admissions Requirements and How to Apply
Exact requirements vary from program to program, but most online PR master's programs share a common set of application components. Reviewing these elements early gives you time to gather materials and strengthen any weak spots before deadlines arrive.
- Bachelor's degree from an accredited institutionA completed undergraduate degree is universally required, but you do not necessarily need a communication or PR background. Programs at George Washington University, the University of Alabama, and others welcome applicants from diverse academic disciplines.
- Minimum GPAMost programs expect a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. Some schools set a lower bar, SUNY Buffalo State, for example, requires a 2.75, while others may offer conditional admission if your GPA falls slightly below the standard threshold.
- Resume or CVNearly every program asks for a current resume. Some, like USC Annenberg, prefer applicants with professional experience, though formal work-experience minimums of one to two years are more common at executive-format programs than at traditional online degrees.
- Statement of purpose or personal essayA written or, in some cases, video statement of purpose lets you explain your career goals and why the program is the right fit. The University of Alabama, for instance, accepts either a video or written statement.
- Letters of recommendationExpect to submit two to three letters. George Washington University and USC Annenberg each require two, while SUNY Buffalo State asks for three. Choose recommenders who can speak to your academic ability or professional potential.
- GRE or GMAT scoresThe clear trend across online PR master's programs is test-optional. George Washington University, Georgetown University, USC Annenberg, the University of Alabama, and SUNY Buffalo State all currently do not require standardized test scores, making this a much smaller hurdle than it once was.
- Writing sample or portfolioCompetitive programs often request work samples to evaluate your communication skills. Georgetown asks for two writing or work samples, the University of Alabama requires three, and SUNY Buffalo State also requests three writing samples alongside a 500-word letter of intent.
Online vs. On-Campus: Choosing the Right Format
Every program featured in this ranking is fully online and open to students nationwide, so Arkansas residents are not limited to in-state options. That said, choosing the online format is a real decision with trade-offs worth weighing. Some programs even offer optional on-campus intensives or short residencies, giving you a hybrid path that blends digital convenience with face-to-face networking.
- Flexibility lets working professionals study nights and weekends without stepping away from a career.
- No relocation required, saving thousands in moving costs and keeping your Arkansas professional network intact.
- Most online programs use the same faculty, coursework, and degree credentials as their on-campus counterparts.
- Flat-rate or distance tuition models can eliminate out-of-state surcharges, making top programs more affordable.
- Optional on-campus residencies at some schools add in-person networking without a full-time campus commitment.
- Spontaneous hallway conversations and organic peer networking are harder to replicate in a virtual classroom.
- You will not have walk-in access to campus resources like media labs, career centers, or faculty office hours.
- Online coursework demands strong self-discipline and consistent time management to stay on track.
- A small number of employers still perceive online degrees differently, though this gap continues to narrow as remote learning becomes standard.
Frequently Asked Questions About PR Master's Programs for Arkansas Students
Choosing the right PR master's program is a big decision, and Arkansas students often have similar questions about availability, cost, format, and career payoff. Below are clear answers to the most common questions we hear from working professionals in the Natural State who are exploring their graduate options.
More Online PR Master's Programs to Consider
Beyond the top 10 ranking, this directory collects additional accredited programs that enroll Arkansas students, most of them fully online or in flexible hybrid formats. Entries appear as a reference list rather than a ranking. It is not an exhaustive list: use the program search on this page, and explore local Arkansas colleges, community colleges, and technical schools as well.







