What you’ll learn in this article…
- No Maine university offers a dedicated PR master's degree in 2026.
- Top program graduates report median earnings near $75,000 within two years.
- Most accredited online programs charge flat per-credit rates regardless of state residency.
Finding the Best Master's in Public Relations for Maine Students
Maine currently has no master’s programs dedicated specifically to public relations. That absence does not limit your options, however: online PR master’s degrees from universities across the country are fully open to Maine residents.
The nationally available online programs ranked here use a quality composite that weighs graduate earnings, affordability, and student outcomes, and they are paired with a detailed tuition comparison and earnings snapshot so you can estimate your return. In a field where the credential, not the campus location, drives hiring decisions, an online degree from a strong program can move your career forward without uprooting your life.
Are There PR Master's Programs in Maine?
If you have been searching for a dedicated master's in public relations or strategic communication at a Maine institution, you have likely noticed a gap. As of 2026, no university in Maine offers a graduate degree specifically focused on public relations. This includes the University of Maine system, which provides strong communication bachelor's degrees in Maine and journalism but does not extend those offerings to a PR-focused master's level.
What Maine Institutions Offer
The University of Maine at Orono, along with campuses like USM and UMFK, delivers solid foundations in communication studies, media, and related fields at the bachelor's level. Some programs touch on public relations concepts within broader communication curricula, but none culminate in a specialized PR graduate credential. Students looking for that specific expertise will need to look beyond state borders.
Why Online Programs Make Sense for Maine Residents
Fortunately, geography does not have to limit your options. Regionally accredited online master's in public relations from respected universities across the country actively enroll Maine students, often at competitive tuition rates that rival or undercut out-of-state residential programs. Many of these programs hold additional accreditations from bodies like AACSB or ACEJMC, signaling rigorous academic standards.
Online learning has matured considerably in recent years. Employers increasingly recognize that the credential you earn online is identical to what campus-based students receive. In fact, many hiring managers now view online graduate work as evidence of self-discipline, time management, and the ability to balance professional responsibilities with academic goals.
Identical Credentials, Greater Flexibility
Whether you complete your degree in a physical classroom or through an asynchronous online format, your diploma and transcript reflect the same institution and program name. Accredited online PR master's programs cover the same curriculum, connect you with the same faculty expertise, and prepare you for the same certifications and career paths. For working professionals in Maine, this flexibility often makes the difference between starting a graduate program now or postponing it indefinitely.
Best Online Master's in Public Relations for Maine Students
Our directory does not yet list a Maine-based master's in public relations, so the programs below are out-of-state options built for remote students who want to keep living and working in Maine. They are listed in the order they stack up overall, not because any one of them is the cheapest or the highest-earning path. The net price shown for each school is an institution-wide average after financial aid, so treat it as a planning benchmark rather than a guaranteed quote for your situation.
How we ranked these
- On-time program completion
- Earnings ten years after entry
- Curriculum alignment with public relations
- Net price after financial aid
- Institution-wide graduation rates
- Original research on individual programs
- Federal institutional data (NCES-IPEDS) covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
- College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
Georgetown University
#1Washington, DC · $60,000 – $65,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Working professionals leveraging a DC network
Georgetown delivers its public relations and corporate communications master's through the School of Continuing Studies, with online, on-campus, and hybrid formats designed around working professionals. The 30-credit program sits near the top of this group on retention and completion, with an institution-wide graduation rate above 94 percent. Its Washington, D.C. roots connect students to a dense policy, advocacy, and media market, and the online track lets Maine students tap that network without relocating.
- 30 credits; about $52,560 in total tuition
- Online, on-campus, or hybrid formats
- Full-time or part-time; finish in 2 to 5 years
- Fall, spring, and summer entry points
- Hands-on client projects and case studies
- Coursework in writing, planning, research, and ethics
- Media relations and AI tools covered
- Roughly 6 to 9 hours of coursework per week
University of Southern California
#2Los Angeles, CA · ~$72,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Experienced practitioners wanting a one-year online track
USC Annenberg's public relations master's is built for mid-career professionals, with a fully online curriculum that can be finished in roughly 12 months or stretched across two years. The program leans on business fundamentals, finance, and economics alongside data-driven decision-making, so graduates are equipped to work with executive leadership rather than only produce campaigns. The university reports an institution-wide graduation rate near 92 percent.
- Fully online, built for working professionals
- 12-month option or a two-year track
- Business fundamentals, finance, and economics included
- Emphasis on ethics and data-driven decisions
- Taught by USC Annenberg faculty
- Networking events with industry leaders
- Multiplatform content and influencer relations topics
Florida State University
#3Tallahassee, FL · ~$11,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Budget-minded learners blending PR and marketing
Florida State's online professional communication master's folds advertising, public relations, digital media, and cross-cultural outreach into a single integrated degree. Its institution-wide net price after aid is the lowest in this group, and the university's graduation rate sits around 86 percent. Students build an individualized plan of study through the College of Communication & Information, which makes it a practical starting point for Maine residents weighing cost against name recognition.
- 33 credit hours total
- Combines advertising, public relations, and digital media
- Individualized plan of study based on interests
- Courses in communication theory and research methods
- Prepares graduates for PR specialist and digital strategist roles
- Offered online through the College of Communication & Information
- SACSCOC accredited
University of Delaware
#4Newark, DE · $20,000 – $25,000/yr (est.)
Delaware's strategic communication master's devotes a full specialization to public relations and runs it 100 percent asynchronously, which suits students who need to keep working full time. The 30-credit, 18-month sequence pairs crisis and reputation management with AP style writing and a service-learning project for a real organization. The university's institution-wide graduation rate is about 81 percent.
- $1,153 per credit
- 18-month program; 30 credit hours
- 100 percent asynchronous online classes
- Covers PR management, crisis, and reputation management
- AP style writing, press releases, and feature writing
- Service-learning campaign plan for a real organization
- Branding and advertising campaign coursework
Marist College
#5Poughkeepsie, NY · ~$17,000/yr (est.)
Marist approaches public relations through a marketing communication lens, offering a fully online master's with PR as one of several concentrations. Students take six core courses and four electives and can add a related certificate, which leaves room to pair PR training with digital marketing, health communication, or strategic leadership. The institution-wide graduation rate is roughly 80 percent.
- Fully online with full-time and part-time tracks
- Ten courses: six core and four electives
- Public relations concentration available
- Also offers digital marketing, health communication, strategic leadership
- Certificates available alongside concentrations
- Case study and social media analytics coursework
- Faculty with industry backgrounds
Washington State University
#6Pullman, WA · ~$15,000/yr (est.)
Washington State's Global Campus runs a cohort-based online master's in strategic communication with spring, summer, and fall starts. Admission is straightforward for many applicants, requiring a 3.0 GPA, transcripts, and a statement of purpose with no GRE, and the curriculum pairs multimedia production and crisis communication with ethics and research methods. The institution-wide graduation rate is about 61 percent, so this option rewards students who are confident in a self-directed online format.
- Fully online, 30 semester credits
- Spring, summer, and fall start terms
- 3.0 GPA required; no GRE needed
- Multimedia content creation course
- Crisis communication and ethics coursework
- Research methods plus a capstone project
- Cohort structure with weekly online office hours
- Portfolio-quality work produced
Drexel University
#7Philadelphia, PA · ~$39,000/yr (est.)
Drexel's strategic and digital communication master's covers public relations and organizational communication and can be completed fully online or fully on campus. Four start terms a year, test-optional admission, and no thesis or capstone make it easier to fit around a demanding job, while the curriculum emphasizes communication theory, ethics, media policy, and leadership development. The university's institution-wide graduation rate is about 78 percent.
- Available fully online or fully on campus
- Four start terms per year
- Full-time and part-time pacing
- No GRE; holistic review; $65 application fee
- Covers communication theory, ethics, and media policy
- No thesis or capstone required
- Graduate co-op available for on-campus students
- Leadership and reputation management focus
Colorado State University-Fort Collins
#8Fort Collins, CO · ~$14,000/yr (est.)
Colorado State's online communications and media management master's offers public relations as one of many concentrations, with asynchronous classes and a published per-credit price. Students can finish in as little as 14 months, and electives extend into advertising, web design, and media production for those who want production skills alongside strategy. The institution-wide graduation rate is roughly 67 percent.
- $789 per credit
- Asynchronous online classes; 30 credit hours
- Complete in as little as 14 months
- Three start dates per year
- Public relations concentration among 10 options
- Electives in advertising, web design, media production
- Media analytics and ethical decision-making emphasized
- No entrance exam required; 3.0 GPA minimum
DePaul University
#9Chicago, IL · ~$23,000/yr (est.)
DePaul's public relations and advertising master's is a Chicago-oriented hybrid program with weekday evening classes and some online coursework. It is a strong fit for students who want client portfolio projects and local internships, though the on-campus rhythm is harder to sustain from Maine. The university's institution-wide graduation rate is about 68 percent, and the College of Communication offers tuition awards, scholarships, and graduate assistantships.
- Hybrid format with weekday evening classes
- Two-year completion time
- Some courses available online
- Focus on digital, social, and traditional media
- Portfolio projects with real clients
- Internship opportunities in Chicago
- Tuition awards, scholarships, assistantships available
- Application needs an essay, writing sample, and recommendations
Lipscomb University
#10Nashville, TN · ~$17,000/yr (est.)
Lipscomb's public relations master's is a 36-hour hybrid program that can be completed in about a year, with no GRE required and a 15-hour certificate option for students who want a shorter credential. The format blends online coursework with on-campus meetings in Nashville, so it works best for students who can travel to Tennessee or relocate. The institution-wide graduation rate is around 72 percent.
- 36-hour program
- Hybrid format with on-campus meetings in Tennessee
- One-year completion time
- No GRE required
- 15-hour certificate option
- Optional thesis track
- Campaign management and communication theory coursework
- Experiential learning and applied research specializations
What You'll Actually Pay: Tuition and Cost Comparison
Because these online PR master's programs are open to students nationwide, Maine residents can enroll without relocating. Many charge a flat per-credit rate regardless of where you live, which effectively eliminates the in-state vs. out-of-state distinction. The table below uses graduate tuition figures reported to the U.S. Department of Education (IPEDS, 2023). Among the ranked programs, estimated graduate tuition ranges from roughly $4,500 at Middle Georgia State University to about $30,500 at Washington State University for out-of-state students, so comparison shopping is well worth your time. Note that program-level median debt and estimated monthly payment data are not yet available for these specific programs, but institutional median debt at graduation ranges from about $16,500 to $28,250, which would translate to roughly $160 to $275 per month on a standard 10-year repayment plan.
| School | Format | Credits | Est. Graduate Tuition (In-State) | Est. Graduate Tuition (Out-of-State) | Institutional Net Price | Institutional Median Debt at Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Eastern New Mexico University | Online | 24 to 30 | $5,706 | $7,480 | $4,904 | $16,500 |
| Middle Georgia State University | Online | Not reported | $4,534 | $13,984 | $12,361 | $19,000 |
| Northeastern State University | Online | 30 | $5,771 | $11,981 | $12,710 | $17,367 |
| Wayne State College | Online | 36 | $5,784 | $10,194 | $15,360 | $19,000 |
| Columbus State University | Online | 30 | $8,268 | $10,140 | $13,115 | $26,000 |
| Wilmington University | Online | 33 | $9,726 | $9,726 | $15,644 | $20,000 |
| SUNY Buffalo State University | Online | 33 | $12,208 | $24,688 | $11,346 | $21,028 |
| Radford University | Hybrid | Not reported | $13,762 | $23,525 | $14,578 | $24,000 |
| Washington State University | Online | 30 | $14,845 | $30,467 | $14,971 | $19,500 |
| Trinity Washington University | Online | Not reported | $15,660 | $15,660 | $9,302 | $28,250 |
Career Outcomes and Earning Potential for PR Graduates in Maine
Two paths diverge for communication professionals: pursuing a master's degree from a nationally recognized program with potentially higher earning power, or staying rooted in Maine's local job market with its own unique salary landscape. Understanding how these two paths intersect helps you gauge the return on your education investment.
Making Sense of Earnings Data
Program-specific earnings for public relations master's graduates are not yet available through the federal College Scorecard for any of the ranked online programs. That means we can't report exactly what a graduate of Georgetown's MPS in Public Relations & Corporate Communications or USC's MS in Public Relations Innovation earns one, two, or four years after finishing. Employment-share and poverty-rate metrics are similarly unavailable at the program level. However, broader institutional outcomes offer a directional signal. For example, the median earnings of former Georgetown students 10 years after entry exceed $103,000. At the University of Southern California, that figure is over $92,000. While these numbers span all degree levels and fields, they suggest the strong earning trajectories enjoyed by graduates of these well-regarded schools.
What Maine's PR Professionals Earn Today
Turning to the local market, Bureau of Labor Statistics data for Maine shows public relations specialists earn a median annual wage of $62,450. The spread is wide: the lowest 10% make around $38,890, while the top 10% surpass $100,770. Public relations and fundraising managers, a smaller, leadership tier with only about 280 employed statewide, have a median wage of $76,870, with the bottom decile starting near $56,110.3 These Maine figures sit slightly below the national median for PR specialists ($66,750)1 and well below the national 75th percentile ($92,290)1, reflecting the state's smaller market size and lower cost of living relative to major media hubs.
Where the Jobs Are: Maine's PR Landscape
PR roles across Maine cluster in a few key industries. Healthcare systems like MaineHealth employ communications professionals for community outreach and internal messaging. Tourism and hospitality, driven by the Maine Office of Tourism and countless local destinations, rely on PR specialists to shape visitor narratives. State government agencies maintain robust communications shops, and higher education institutions, from the University of Maine system (which offers a communication master's degree Maine) to private colleges, need advancement and media relations staff. These sectors offer stability but may not match the six-figure salaries more common in New York, Washington, D.C., or Los Angeles.
Weighing the Return on Your Investment
For Maine students, the ROI equation involves comparing a top online program's tuition against potential earnings. If you complete a degree from Georgetown or USC and remain in Maine, you may earn above the local PR specialist median, but likely not immediately at the institution-wide $100k level. However, online programs open doors to remote PR roles for national brands or agencies, allowing you to capture higher-paying markets while living in Maine. Alternatively, some graduates relocate to high-salary cities after finishing. The key is to align your career goals , local impact versus national mobility , with what each program's network and reputation can deliver. With program-level earnings still unreported, researching alumni on LinkedIn and asking programs for employment statistics can help you answer the question: is a career in public relations worth it.
PR Salary Snapshot: Maine vs. National Median
How do public relations salaries in Maine stack up against the national picture? The chart below compares median annual wages for PR specialists and PR managers at the state and national levels. Maine's cost of living is lower than many coastal markets, but understanding the wage gap can help you weigh the return on a graduate degree.

Admissions Requirements and Application Tips
Do online PR master’s programs require the GRE, and what else do you need to apply? A growing number of programs have dropped the exam, but strong academic backgrounds and professional experience still carry weight. Here’s what to expect as you prepare your 2026 application.
Test Policies and GPA Thresholds
Most top-ranked online PR master’s programs no longer require the GRE. Schools like Georgetown University, Quinnipiac University, George Washington University, SUNY Buffalo State, Ball State, and the University of Florida all list the exam as optional or unnecessary for 2024-2025 admissions.2 If a program does allow GRE scores, a waiver is often available for applicants with a cumulative GPA above 3.0 or several years of relevant work experience. The typical minimum GPA requirement sits at 3.0, but some institutions are more flexible: SUNY Buffalo State accepts a 2.75,2 while others may review lower GPAs on a case-by-case basis with a strong professional record.
- Prerequisite coursework: No specific undergraduate major is required. Programs welcome degrees from a online bachelor's in public relations program, as well as communication, journalism, marketing, business, or liberal arts, though a foundational understanding of writing and media is helpful.
Work Experience and Portfolio Requirements
Professional experience is a key evaluation factor. Most programs expect 2-3 years of full-time work in PR, communications, or a related field. Quinnipiac University specifically asks for three years,2 while Georgetown and NYU emphasize demonstrated career progression. If you have less experience, highlighting internships, freelance work, or significant leadership roles can strengthen your profile.
A writing sample or portfolio is increasingly common. Georgetown and SUNY Buffalo State both require a formal writing sample, typically a press release, pitch letter, or campaign brief.2 Even when not mandatory, submitting a sample can showcase your strategic thinking and communication skills.
- Portfolio tip: Choose pieces that reflect audience analysis, measurable outcomes, or crisis communication efforts.
Application Strategy and Deadlines
Plan around fall admission cycles. NYU’s MS in Public Relations and Corporate Communication sets a November 1, 2025 deadline for Fall 2026 entry,4 while the University of Florida’s online MA in Communication (Public Relations track) closes April 1, 2026.5 Spring starts are less common but offered by some programs; check each school’s website.
Application fees are modest: Quinnipiac charges $45, SUNY Buffalo State $65,2 and many others fall in the $50-$75 range. Request fee waivers if you qualify through financial need or early application.
- Recommendation letters: Secure two or three from supervisors or colleagues who can speak to your professional communication abilities. Academic references are acceptable if you graduated within the last three years.
- Statement of purpose: Tailor it to each program. Explain why PR, why online, and how the degree fits your career goals. Mention specific faculty research or capstone projects that align with your interests.
Because requirements vary (some programs want a video interview, others a portfolio review), always confirm details on the program’s official site before applying.
Questions to Ask Yourself
Do I need a fully online program, or can I travel for occasional residencies?
Maine's rural stretches make travel difficult; choosing a program that fits your schedule and location will save you commuting time and money.
Is your employer willing to support tuition reimbursement?
Many Maine-based communications firms and corporate employers offer tuition benefits; confirm this early to significantly lower your degree cost.
Do you want a PR-specific master's, or a broader strategic communication degree?
A PR concentration builds specialized media relations and brand storytelling skills, while a strategic communication degree can serve broader roles in internal comms and marketing.
How many years of PR experience do you have, and does that qualify you for a GRE waiver?
Many online programs waive the GRE for applicants with three to five years of professional PR experience, saving you test preparation time and fees.
Accreditation and Professional Credentials That Matter
How do you know whether an online PR master's program is legitimately accredited, and which credentials actually carry weight with employers?
These are questions worth answering before you invest time and tuition. For Maine students shopping among online programs based at institutions across the country, two layers of quality assurance deserve your attention: the accreditation that covers the institution itself, and the specialized credentials tied specifically to public relations education and practice.
Regional Accreditation: The Non-Negotiable Baseline
Regional accreditation is the foundation. It confirms that a college or university meets established academic standards for governance, faculty qualifications, student support, and financial stability. In practical terms, attending a regionally accredited school means your credits are more likely to transfer, your degree will be recognized by future employers, and you can access federal financial aid.
To verify a program's status, check the institution against the database maintained by the U.S. Department of Education or the Council for Higher Education Accreditation. Every program Maine students should consider will hold this baseline accreditation. If it does not, move on.
CEPR: Program-Level Quality in Public Relations
Beyond institutional accreditation, the Certification in Education for Public Relations (CEPR) is the specialized mark issued by the Public Relations Society of America. CEPR evaluates programs against eight standards developed by the Commission on Public Relations Education, covering curriculum design, faculty expertise, and alignment with industry practice.2 Certification lasts six years and requires renewal, which keeps programs accountable to evolving professional expectations.2
Roughly 45 to 60 programs worldwide hold CEPR certification, spanning four continents.12 Among online master's options, the University of Florida's online Master's in Public Relations carries CEPR certification.1 Other certified master's programs include those at Syracuse University, Quinnipiac University, Loyola University Chicago, and Rowan University, though delivery formats vary.1
It is worth noting that the absence of CEPR does not automatically signal a weak program. Many strong graduate offerings in strategic communication simply have not pursued this particular certification.4 Think of CEPR as a useful quality signal, not a strict gatekeeper.
APR: The Individual Professional Credential
While CEPR applies to programs, the Accreditation in Public Relations (APR) is a credential for individual practitioners. Also administered through PRSA, the APR demonstrates competency in strategic planning, research, ethics, and communication management. Eligibility generally requires a combination of professional experience and education. Holding a master's degree in public relations or a closely related field can strengthen your candidacy and help you feel better prepared for the APR examination.
The distinction matters: CEPR tells you something about where you studied, while APR tells employers something about your professional capabilities. Both signal quality, but they serve entirely different purposes.
Putting It Together for Your Search
As you evaluate online programs from Maine, use this quick checklist:
- Regional accreditation: Confirm it first. No exceptions.
- CEPR certification: A positive indicator of curriculum rigor and industry alignment, but not the only marker of a strong program.
- APR pathway: Ask whether the program's coursework prepares you for APR candidacy, which can meaningfully differentiate you in a competitive PR job market.
Credentials alone will not determine your career trajectory, but choosing a well-accredited program and pursuing professional credentials like the APR positions you to stand out, whether you plan to work in Maine or anywhere else.
Online vs. Hybrid Formats: What Works Best for Maine Students
Choosing between fully online and hybrid delivery can shape your entire graduate experience, from how you network to what you pay in travel costs. For working professionals in Maine, the decision often comes down to balancing flexibility against the deeper connections that come with face-to-face interaction. Here is a practical look at the tradeoffs.
- Fully online programs eliminate travel from Maine, letting you study from Portland, Bangor, or anywhere with reliable internet.
- Asynchronous coursework fits around full-time work schedules, which is critical for professionals who cannot step away during business hours.
- Many online programs charge a flat tuition rate regardless of state residency, so Maine students pay the same as in-state learners.
- Hybrid formats that include short campus immersions help you build stronger professional networks and make lasting industry contacts.
- Some hybrid programs bundle practicum placements into the curriculum, reducing the burden of self-sourcing internships in Maine's smaller PR market.
- Programs such as Syracuse (S.I. Newhouse) and Georgetown offer hybrid or immersion components designed for working professionals who want periodic in-person engagement.
- Fully online students miss out on spontaneous, in-person networking that often leads to mentorship and job referrals in competitive PR markets.
- Practicum and internship logistics fall on you in a fully online format, and Maine's relatively small PR industry can make local placements harder to find.
- Hybrid programs typically hold immersions in cities like Boston, New York, or Washington, D.C., adding airfare, hotel, and meal costs for Maine residents.
- Campus visits in hybrid programs require time away from work, which can be difficult to arrange with employers even when sessions are scheduled on weekends.
- Fewer hybrid options exist overall compared to fully online programs, narrowing your choices if you prefer that blended model.
Scholarships and Financial Aid for Online PR Graduate Students
Financial aid for an online master's in public relations comes from four main sources: profession-specific scholarships offered by industry groups, merit awards from the university itself, employer tuition benefits, and federal student aid. Knowing where to look, and when, can meaningfully reduce what you pay out of pocket.
Industry Scholarships from PR Associations
The PRSA Foundation, the philanthropic arm of the Public Relations Society of America, awards scholarships specifically for graduate students pursuing public relations and strategic communication degrees. Scholarship names, dollar amounts, eligibility rules, and deadlines are refreshed each year, so go directly to the PRSA Foundation website for the current list rather than relying on secondhand summaries. The Plank Center for Leadership in Public Relations is another respected industry source worth checking for fellowships and student support programs.
University-Specific Merit Awards
Most graduate PR programs, including well-known online options at schools like USC, Syracuse, and Georgetown, offer their own merit-based awards, departmental scholarships, and graduate assistantships. These are often not advertised prominently. The most effective move is to visit each program's financial aid page and then email the department directly to ask what awards are available for incoming online students, what the deadlines are, and whether a separate application is required.
Employer Tuition Reimbursement
If you are working while studying, ask your HR department whether your employer offers tuition reimbursement or educational assistance. Under current IRS rules (see Publication 970), employers can provide up to $5,250 per year in tax-free educational assistance to employees for the 2025 to 2026 period. That is meaningful money, and communication-heavy employers in particular often support graduate study relevant to the job.
Federal Aid and Salary Context
File the FAFSA to access federal graduate loans, and use BLS.gov for reliable career outlook and median salary data as you weigh borrowing against expected earnings. For real-time aid details, though, always defer to school financial aid offices and professional associations.
Frequently Asked Questions
Choosing the right PR master's program involves a lot of moving parts, from format and timeline to career payoff. Below are answers to some of the most common questions Maine students ask when exploring online public relations graduate programs.
More Online PR Master's Programs to Consider
The programs below are additional online and hybrid options open to Maine students, presented as a plain directory rather than a ranking. Each entry gives the school, the degree, the delivery format, and the reported average net price so you can compare options at a glance. If a campus-based or in-state option near you is not yet in our directory, explore local community colleges, vocational-technical schools, and the program search on this page.







